II MotoGP Test at Sepang (2nd day): The riders’ statements

Publicado: 27 febrero, 2013 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, ,

JORGE LORENZO (1st – Yamaha Factory Racing): “The track was much better than yesterday, which surprised me a lot right from the beginning. That allowed me to be stronger right from the beginning so we’re very satisfied with the improvements we’re making with the settings. On top of that, I feel stronger as a rider than the first Sepang test so I’m very satisfied.”

DANI PEDROSA (2 nd – Repsol Honda): “We were doing a lot of testing with Öhlins, so it was quite tough but so far we’re making good steps forward. Even though we had heavy rain yesterday the track is quite good now, so tonight we’ll be taking all of the data from the first two days to establish a plan for Thursday.”

CAL CRUTCHLOW (3rd – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): ‘There didn’t seem to be a lot of grip out there again today although the lap times have improved a lot. We tried something different with the front fork setting, which was in a similar direction to what Jorge (Lorenzo) uses and there were some good and bad points like with most things you test. I’m happy with my pace because we’ve tried a couple of different settings and we need to work on fine-tuning the best one. The main goal has been trying to stop the front of the bike lifting so much when I change direction on the throttle. The bike feels quite heavy so we need to reduce how much the fork comes up without sacrificing too much in another area like the braking. I’m sure if I had put in some new tyres at the start of the day I could have gone faster. But I waited to use mine around lunch and I still went faster, even though the track temperature was much higher at that point. I’m not really too concerned about the times though. I’m just concentrating on making the package we have got better for the first race in Qatar.”

MARC MARQUEZ (4th – Repsol, Honda): “It’s all going well at the moment. This morning we went out with the same setups as for the last test, trying many things and getting lots of information. We’ll see how it goes tomorrow, but I’m happy because we’re now working more with the bike; first it was with setup and then with electronics.”

VALENTINO ROSSI (5th – Yamaha Factory Racing): “I’m happy, the feeling is quite good. Today was a very long day; I did more than 60 laps because we had a lot of work to do. We continued to work to increase the rear grip and traction, especially when the tyre has a lot of laps on it. We found something but we are still not 100% happy, as we lost a little of the balance in the bike. Tomorrow the target is to improve the traction without losing the balance and then the bike will be very good.”

STEFAN BRADL (7th – LCR Honda): “It was a long day for us but we were fortunate as the bad the weather was really good today and we could complete our daily program. We mainly focused on the race set up making a lot of changes on the bike. This morning, early in the session, I made some small mistakes on soft tyres but soon I went back to my standard shape producing acceptable lap times. We are a bit off the pace right now but our main target was the bike set-up and we have a lot of data to evaluate ahead at tomorrow’s final day.”

BRADLEY SMITH (10th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “After the crash yesterday I am feeling much happier today, though I’m a little bit wary of some things that happen with the front and that can play on your mind a little bit. But the track has more grip and my feeling with the bike is much better. Today I worked a lot on my braking technique because I’m being too cautious at the moment and not using the carbon brakes as they need to be used. We played around with some different settings today too just to gain more of an understanding about what direction we can take in the future if we have certain problems. I think Jorge is doing exceptionally well riding around consistently in the 2.00 bracket because all of the other guys seem to be in the 2.01s. He is on another level at the moment but to be honest I feel quite good doing consistent 2.02s. We are working for Qatar and the first race rather than lap times now. It is not e asy that’s for sure but I am confident soon it will start clicking into place and we will start rolling forward.”

ANDREA IANNONE (11th – Pramac Racing): “I’m quite pleased that we were able to post lap times significantly quicker than yesterday, improve our consistency and at the same time move closer to the factory Ducatis of Nicky and Andrea. So we’re pretty excited by that. It also means that I personally am improving with every test, understanding more with the bike. We tried a few things today, not least a different swingarm, to see what will and will not benefit us. Tomorrow I’ll start with different targets because we haven’t used many of the soft tyres today – only two on the rear – but above all I’m very pleased because we’ve been very consistent as well as improving the lap times, which are both important for when it comes to races. That said, there’s still room for improvement and now I’m looking to trim the lap times even further.”

ALEIX ESPARGARÓ (12th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “I have been waking up in the middle of the night for the past two nights, which is unusual but for some reason I have struggled with jetlag on this trip. I was really tired this morning so I had something to eat at lunchtime and had a little rest. We did some aerodynamic tests this afternoon, working with different fairings, and tried some electronic updates. We have done 45 laps and tested a lot of little things, the majority of which were positive. We are still not on the pace from our last visit here to Sepang because the track conditions are not as good but we are still the leading CRT and it’s important to stay on top. The only other CRT rider with a similar pace to me is my team-mate Randy – the rest are one-off laps – so I am happy with that.”

RANDY DE PUNIET (18th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “Even though the track is still quite slippery I had a better feeling with the bike today. We worked a lot with the electronics and the rear suspension and I was able to improve on my lap times from the first test. My best lap actually came on used rubber because when we put a fresh tyre in to push for a time it was faulty, but that’s okay because it shows that we still have room to improve. The objective tomorrow is to keep working in the same way and to keep moving forward. We are still struggling with the rear but we are on the right lines to solving our problems so hopefully that will be the case tomorrow.”

DANILO PETRUCCI (20th – CAME Iodaracing): “Today I have tested the new 2013 bike and I had a good feeling with it very quickly: we had not to change the set up and I have got my best lap, and personal record on this track, with used tyres. The bike is growing every day and tomorrow we will work on Magneti Marelli ECU on the IODA-SUTER BMW 2013.”

LUKAS PESEK (27th – CAME Iodaracing): “We are following our plan, today we have worked on the suspensions with different type of tyres, I have to find a good feeling with them because they are, with carbon brakes, the biggest innovation for me in this class. I improved my lap time more than 1.5 second and this is the sign that we are working on the right way.”

Sincerely,
Eduard Ballús

Responder

