MotoGP Test Sepang (1st day): The riders statements

Publicado: 5 febrero, 2013 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, ,

DANI PEDROSA (1st – Repsol Honda):It’s the first day back testing after the winter break. We’ve spent three months off the bike and the feeling from the first day testing is positive. The track was in good condition and we were able to put in a lot of laps at a good pace, thanks to it not being especially hot. I haven’t ridden since the November test in Valencia, so today has been a first step to getting back on the pace. We didn’t play about with the setup today, but we will move onto that in the remaining two days of testing.

JORGE LORENZO (2nd – Yamaha Factory Racing):This morning I had to get the feeling again for the MotoGP bike but it didn’t cost me so much time as it did last year. When I got up to a good pace we tried some things we couldn’t try in Aragon, we need to work on it more. Some parts I liked, some things need more work. Tomorrow we are going to keep trying the things we tried today and also some new parts. Times are very close between Yamaha and Honda so we will try to improve our bike to be even better. We are still working on acceleration, we improved a lot last year but it’s still not our strongest point. I think now at this point consistency is one of my strongest points and I hope to continue that this year.”

MARC MÁRQUEZ (3rd – Repsol Honda): “I‘m very happy with how the first day went, because you always have a few nerves after a couple of months out. I thought that I would take a little longer to get back ‘on it’, but right from the opening laps I felt very comfortable on the bike. We picked up confidence from the start, although obviously we can still improve. I don’t think the result today should be used as a reference point, because we are all trying out new things. I focused on simply finding a good setup and getting comfortable on the bike. I tried to put in a good time so that the day’s testing had a purpose.

VALENTINO ROSSI (4th – Yamaha Factory Racing):I’m very happy about the first day of testing with the M1. After two seasons away I was able to come back on the bike and remember the good feeling I always had with it. I am also happy because I was quite fast from the morning. We worked on the settings to make some improvements and we made some good steps. In the afternoon we started to work on the new parts for the season. It’s just the first test but the potential is high and I am in a good position, I am in fourth place but not far from the other three guys. I am very positive that we can improve over the next few days but I’m happy with the start.

STEFAN BRADL (5th – LCR Honda):I am very satisfied about this first day of test. The weather and the asphalt temperature were perfect and we could easily complete out test program. Thanks to my new winter training I feel better fitted on these conditions and I found the guys very motivated and even more technically prepared. Actually we started our 2013 campaign on a higher level. Today was mainly a test for myself, to get used to the bike again, recover the feeling, feel the throttle and the brakes after a long time off. We combined a lot if things from Öhlins suspension to swing-arm lengths and rear grip feeling. Doubtless there’s more work to do especially on used tyres: I must improve my riding style on used rubber to match my competitors pace during the races and we will focus on this point in the near future“.

CAL CRUTCHLOW (6th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3):It was good to be back on the bike again after a couple of months away. I’m happy enough because initially it is all about getting the feeling back after a while off the bike. It is difficult for me coming to Sepang because it is not my favourite circuit but I am pleased and it has been a good start. I haven’t got too many updates to try on the bike but hopefully I’ve got some things to try later this week. I’ve been working more on tweaking my style a bit more today, particularly in the braking area to get the bike stopped better, which was an area I know I have to improve on for this season. It is clear looking at the top of the timesheets that it is going to be a fantastic season in MotoGP. I think any of us that finished in the top seven today will have a shot at winning a race and I think the fans are going to be treated to some fantastic racing.

BRADLEY SMITH (12th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3):When I started getting warmed up this morning at 9am and it started raining, my heart sank and I thought it was going to be a Valencia experience all over again. Luckily it didn’t last and I got out on track and I am very satisfied with how today went. The idea for this test is to keep it very simple and be consistent, so each time I go out I learn, understand and enjoy it and get some confidence. Each exit from the pits I wanted to get to the lap time I did before and then try and beat it by a little bit. I managed that and for that reason it was a positive start. This test is all about me learning how to ride the M1 rather than worrying about anything else like big set-up changes and we made good progress with every exit. All we’ve been doing is trying to make the bike as easy as possible to ride so I can understand the bike, the tyres and how the chassis works. We are keeping the bike very user-friendly just to help me understand the right lines. I’m still using Moto2 lines but being able to analyse Cal, Jorge and Valentino’s data is a big help because you can easily see what you are doing good and what you are doing bad. All I’m doing is learning and trying to gain some confidence before we try and make any big steps with changes, which we probably won’t until the next test back in Sepang at the end of the month.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (14th – Power Electronics Aspar Team):We started very early this morning; I think we were the first out on track. We tried a swingarm and also had the new chassis ready, although I decided not to use it today and instead have today as a more general ride. Our starting setup was the same as for the final race of last year. I wanted to regain my feel for the bike after the winter break. The first morning stint was hard, as after so long away it felt strange to be back on a GP bike. However, from the second stint on I began to feel much more comfortable. We did a lot of short runs of no more than 5 laps. I am happy to have been the fastest CRT here, as it is our obligation to continue on top like last year. The difference between us and the rest of the riders isn’t huge, so I am satisfied.

RANDY DE PUNIET (15th – Power Electronics Aspar Team):We started off with the base setting from last year. I tried out the new 2013 swingarm again, which I had been able to test out in Valencia and liked a lot. Here, however, I found it more difficult to get a good feeling with it. As a result, we went back to the standard swingarm and I felt more comfortable. We stopped afterwards in order to attach the 2013 chassis, which in theory only worked with the new swingarm but which we were able to combine with last year’s. We’ll see what we can do tomorrow with this combination. Just like in October, we felt a lot of chatter with the front end at certain points on the track. The aim for the remaining two days is to get rid of that. We made the most of today from start to finish, the feeling is good after the winter break and I am very pleased to be back riding.

ANDREA IANNONE (16th – Pramac Racing):We suffered the first day on the track, like the rest of the first day of testing. I’m struggling to understand where and how to improve the bike, but I am confident that the next two days of work will allow me to figure out the right direction.

BEN SPIES (17th – Pramac Racing):After four months of inactivity I didn’t want to force too much in order to be more concentrated and performing in the coming days. The shoulder reacted very well, however I need to regain strenght.

Sincerely,
Eduard Ballús

comentarios
  1. lilewis dice:

    Seen the timing sheet, nice to see what the riders have to say, gracias Eduard!

    • eduardballus dice:

      Hey Lisa! You’re welcome, it’s a pleasure! Yes, but it would be more interesting if all teams reported about the impressions of their riders! Hehehe. We’ll see what happens tomorrow… Greetings and thanks for your reading!

      • lilewis dice:

        Hi Eduard,
        Looking forward to reading your report on tomorrows tesingt, this is the most important test for a long time and already so much to consider – Marquez great from the off, Rossi back and looking happy, Ducati struggling (again) and those Aspars ahead of the Pramacs… will be interesting to see what happens next!

        Always a pleasure to read your blog it is very well informed!

Responder

