GP VALENCIA – CHESTE (2ND DAY): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 10 noviembre, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

DANI PEDROSA (1st – Repsol Honda):It was almost a perfect lap and I gave 100% because I knew I wouldn’t be able to improve any more as the tyres were very good for the first lap and then the drop in grip was quite severe. I’m very happy with the pole position and the new record because Valentino’s old record was done with qualifying tyres. We had only one dry session to test the new asphalt and we saw that the grip level is a little better but the tyres dropped down very quick. We still have to decide on the tyres for tomorrow because we have used only the soft compound, but it depends on the weather – if it rains we will need to take what we learned yesterday. I really would like to win here and finish the season with a good race”.

JORGE LORENZO (2nd – Yamaha Factory Racing):It seems like it’s going to be very close tomorrow. Dani is very strong here, not only in the dry but also in the wet and it seems it could be wet for the race. I tried my best for pole position with the last rear tyre but I didn’t expect the lap time from Dani. Anyway, second place is good and the important thing is the race. Maybe the story will be different tomorrow“.

CASEY STONER (3rd – Repsol Honda):Qualifying didn’t really go to plan, it was a pretty frustrating session. Due to the miserable weather this weekend, we had a lot of work to do in a very short space of time, we did make some good progress but unfortunately we couldn’t find enough before the end of the session. There is a new surface here and we expected everything to be really good and smooth but in fact we’ve found there are a lot of bumps on the circuit. Now I’m thinking how we can improve the bike and get everything working a little easier. We need to adapt the electronics to allow me to be less restricted on this track so I can ride how I want to. Hopefully the weather is dry tomorrow and we can take that extra step in warm up”.

CAL CRUTCHLOW (4th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3):I t was another tough day with the weather because we pretty much lost another session this morning. The pace this afternoon was incredible considering it was the first dry session of the weekend and I was able to lap a second inside of the lap record. There is obviously good grip from the new surface but for me it is still very bumpy and I think even worse than last year. I’m pretty disappointed really not to be on the front row. I felt I should have been in the top three but I made a mistake and it was my fault. At least I was the fastest non-factory rider and I am pleased about that. It has been a brilliant second season for me and I really want to finish it strongly tomorrow with a good result. I’ll certainly be giving it my maximum effort as always before we focus on 2013 with the test next week“.

STEFAN BRADL (5th – LCR Honda):It was another good qualifying for us because since the beginning we have been very competitive. The situation out there was a bit tricky because we only lapped on soft tyres and after a couple of laps the rear started to drop and the grip was not enough. So our biggest problem right now remains the rear because it’s not stable in the corner entries and we are now working on the electronics to solve the problem for the race. If the track conditions will remain the same like today we can be very strong but if it’s going to be wet it will be a big gamble for everybody”.

ANDREA DOVIZIOSO (6th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3):This afternoon was the first dry session of the weekend so far and in all honesty I struggled quite a lot with the wind. It is always difficult to set the bike up in those conditions, so I am reasonably happy to be on the second row and inside the top six again. I’m sure I could have been a little bit faster right at the end because on my fastest lap I came across Espargaro at the final corner and I lost a little bit of time. I am not sure what to expect tomorrow but it is going to very difficult to be in the battle for the podium. The top three are really fast but it looks like it could be a good battle for fourth. It is my last race for the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Team and I am really determined to finish our great relationship with a positive result. It has been a fantastic experience and I want to get a good result to thank all my crew for their hard work and commitment this season“.

NICKY HAYDEN (7th – Ducati Team):It’s been strange with the weather this weekend. We had to basically go out in qualifying and spend some time to understand the new grip and also the bike, then try to get a good time. The bike was okay, but the front was pushing a lot, especially on corner entry, with the brake still on. The new pavement certainly helps the bike feel better, and I thought we could be closer to the guys at the front, but they went really fast today. I’m not too thrilled with how it went, but we have a couple of ideas to try in warm-up tomorrow. We’ll see”.

ÁLVARO BAUTISTA (8th – San Carlo Honda Gresini):I am not very happy because in our only dry session this weekend I didn’t have a good feeling with the front – in fact I had zero feeling. Whenever I tried to push it the bike ran wide in the corner and I was really struggling. We tried some different forks but I didn’t get confidence from any of them. We also need to work with the gearbox setting because I’m not happy with that either. Hopefully we can make the right set-up changes ahead of the warm-up tomorrow and find some confidence in corner entry”.

HÉCTOR BARBERÁ (9th – Pramac Racing):Thanks to the favourable weather conditions we were able to use the sixty minute qualifying to improve our set up, achieving a positive result. I could have had a much more productive day, but I made some mistakes while I was looking for the fastest lap time. Despite that I’m confident about tomorrow’s race. The only thing that could shuffle the cards is the rain that is forecast for tomorrow. We will see what the weather awaits for us!”.

ALEIX ESPARGARÓ (10th – Power Electronics Aspar Team):I am really happy today, that was a great session. We had next year’s bike available so I wanted to try it. With this being the first session in the dry we had a lot of work to do with it, more than I thought, so halfway through the session I switched back to my normal bike. It was the right decision and I was able to set some fast times on my last run. We are the fastest CRT and hope to be so again tomorrow after such a fun and entertaining season. I have managed to be faster than my team-mate in the last four races but tomorrow is what counts so I will try to do the best I can”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (11th – Ducati Team):Today went pretty badly, and I’m sorry because we really hoped to do well in these last races. It’s also true that Hayden, Barberá and Bautista aren’t so far ahead, so tomorrow we’ll certainly try to do a good start, to pass some people and make up some positions. Unfortunately, today I had some problems with the hard front tyre. I lost the front twice at mid-session because we’re not able to get it up to temperature well on the right side. The race should be done with the hard, so we’ll see what the temperature is tomorrow or if there’s bad weather. If it were to rain, we would certainly be more competitive”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (12th – Power Electronics Aspar Team):We have had a very positive weekend so far. We are still fighting with my team-mate Aleix and hopefully tomorrow we can do it in the race. His lap time today was excellent but I was struggling for rear grip, which has been an issues since yesterday. We have made a few changes that haven’t paid off as we hoped so this is something we need to improve tomorrow. It is the inly thing slowing us down right now so overall I am happy. If we resolve this we can have a good race in either wet or dry conditions because we found a good setting for the wet yesterday“.

KAREL ABRAHAM (13th – Cardion AB Motoracing):We expected better result after successful Friday practice session. I can´t say anything bad about the bike, we hadn´t any unexpected problem – except the usual with rear tyre grip. I know where I am slower and I´ll try to stay focused on them tomorrow. Saturday turned sunny, but we don´t know what to expect on Sunday – it has to rain probably”.

MICHELE PIRRO (15th – San Carlo Honda Gresini):I was expecting better today after our performance yesterday but it seems the more grip we have the more problems we have with chatter and I can’t push the bike like I want to. Anyway, I am still confident I can have a good race tomorrow because the boys will work hard tonight to improve the situation ahead of tomorrow’s warm-up, just as they have done all Seaton”.

ROBERTO ROLFO (19th – Speed Master):I’m quite happy with how I rode in the qualifying practice, we managed to improve during the session. Honestly we had to struggle a little at the end of the session, I went back to change the front tyre and to pick one we ha previously used and that I preferred. Such decision, however, didn’t really help us to use at the best the time at disposal and some extra laps would have allowed us to make some further steps, as far as it concerns the grid position. The final result isn’t really what we were hoping for, we have to work to achieve a better performance in the third part of the track, but for the rest our results aren’t too bad. Generally speaking this was a positive session, we worked well and tomorrow we’ll try to stay with the other CRT machines: on this circuit, with the new asphalt and all the braking, there may be some nice battles coming up”.

Sincerely,
Eduard Ballús

Responder

