GP VALENCIA (PREVIEW): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 8 noviembre, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

JORGE LORENZO (1st – 350 points / Yamaha Factory Racing): “This is the last round of the season, it’s a great feeling to be coming home to my Spanish fans as the world champion. It’s been a long, tough year and we have all worked so hard to get here, now this weekend will be one to enjoy for all of us with less pressure. I will of course still be pushing for the top step of the podium, it would be amazing to end the year with a victory”.

DANI PEDROSA (2nd – 307 points / Repsol Honda): “I’m very excited to get to Valencia and race again in front of the Spanish crowd. It’s been a long time away and I really look forward to enjoying the atmosphere there; it’s always a special race because it’s the last one of the season and I have a lot of people there supporting me, together with my family and friends. I enjoy riding at this track and we’ve had good results there in the past. So, I want to make this weekend special and fight for the win and finish the season on a high”.

CASEY STONER (3rd – 238 points / Repsol Honda): “Valencia should be a little better for me again, not as good as Phillip Island, but I’ve always had great success there, many pole positions and race wins. I hope we can be competitive there and with the track going left it should suit our bike and me a little better at this point. It’s not going to be easy but it would be nice to get another good result in my final race in MotoGP”.

ÁLVARO BAUTISTA (5th – 165 points / San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Valencia is always a special round because it is the last race of the season and it’s at home. The objective is to make sure of fifth place in the championship and we will be working hard from Friday to solve the problems we have found with the bike at other circuits. I am really looking forward to getting back on the bike and hopefully having fun again and making the most of the support. Valencia is a very technical and slow circuit, you never a get a break because the bike is constantly leaned over and changing direction. There is a new track surface this year so we’ll have to wait and see what the grip is like – the data we got from the test last year won’t be of much use. I have been on the podium a few times in the past at Valencia but it’s not one of my favourite circuits”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (6th – 157 points / Ducati Team): “Valencia definitely isn’t one of my favourite circuits, apart from the fact that it’s in Spain, which always has a great atmosphere. It’s a ‘Micky Mouse’ track that’s small for MotoGP and therefore difficult and tricky. There are a bunch of left hand corners, and I normally prefer those that go to the right. Anyway, we’ll see. The asphalt was redone and that should have improved both the grip and the bumps. It will be a strange weekend that should be challenging for a few different reasons, but we’ll do our best”.

NICKY HAYDEN (9th – 122 points / Ducati Team): “Valencia is a track and a race that I like a lot. It’s the last round of the year, so the atmosphere is good and everyone always seems to have a little something extra. The track has been resurfaced since we were last there, and it was certainly due. We’ll have to see how it is with tyres when we get there, as new surfaces can be hard on rubber. We’ll need something that has good endurance on the left but also retains enough heat on the right. Smoother tracks are normally better for our bike. One thing we need to do better than in recent races is to make bigger improvements with the bike over the course of the weekend. My team has been working so hard all year, and I really want to end the season with a solid race for them”.

HÉCTOR BARBERÁ (11th – 83 points / Pramac Racing): “This is my home circuit and I can go fast without hardly thinking about it, so I hope that remains the case this weekend. I will fight, trying to achieve my best result of this season to complete this adventure with the Pramac Racing Team in a positive way, both for me and for my crew”.

ALEIX ESPARGARÓ (12th – 69 points / Power Electronics Aspar Team): “I am really looking forward to arriving at Valencia and I hope we can have a good weekend to finish the year off. We are in good form and have finished the last four races as the top CRT so we have to keep going like this until the final push. It is another home race for me and in particular my team. Hopefully we can finish the season as the top CRT ahead of my teammate Randy but I will need to work hard all weekend and not make any mistakes. Obviously the objective is to finish the race and the championship as the top CRT rider. My teammate is very strong though so we can’t slack off until it is over. I think if we do it we will deserve it because we have won nine of the fourteen races we have finished”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (13th – 58 points / Power Electronics Aspar Team): “This is an important race for my team, who are based in Valencia, so I hope we can have a good weekend. It is not a particularly quick circuit, which I usually prefer, but I like the Comunidad Valenciana track and I find it interesting. I have been told that they have resurfaced the track, which is a good thing for sure, and now it should have more grip. I am looking forward to riding and seeing how our recent improvements shape up there. Hopefully the weather will be kind to us and we can have a nice weekend to finish the season off. Everybody in the team is highly motivated about this one and the clear objective is to finish the season in the best way possible. The aim is to finish this race as the best CRT – it’s a bit late to try and beat my team-mate in the championship but anything can happen in racing so we have to make sure we do our best and finish the season on a high note”.

MICHELE PIRRO (15th – 32 points / San Carlo Honda Gresini): “It goes without saying that I have great memories of Valencia thanks to my victory there in the Moto2 race last season. This year I would like to finish the season in style again and beat the Aprilia-ART bikes at last. That would be fantastic and the perfect way to repay everybody who has believed in our CRT project”.

COLIN EDWARDS (18th – 25 points / NGM Mobile Forward Racing): “With the struggles we’ve had this season I’ve been pretty happy these last few races. It’s been a tough year and we have worked our way through it. I look forward to this weekend, I have always liked Valencia, I’m just hoping that the weather doesn’t get too cold. Some good weather would be nice for this last race”.

KATSUYUKI NAKASUGA (24th – 7 points / Yamaha Factory Racing): “It’s a big honour to be chosen by Yamaha again to represent them at Valencia. The level of the talent is so high in the MotoGP field but I will do my best to make Yamaha proud with this opportunity. As the Yamaha test rider this is also a good opportunity to gain further valuable data for the M1”.

HIROSHI AOYAMA (Substitute – Avintia Blusens): “First of all I want to thank the Avintia Blusens team for giving me the opportunity to return to the MotoGP World Championship, where I have had my best results as a rider. The team has worked hard this year to develop a new bike and have made great progress. I hope I can help continue the development of the bike and I am convinced that we can do good things together. I’m excited to get back into action in this category and test the CRT. I also want to thank the Honda World Superbike team for giving me permission to ride at the Valencian GP, despite having a contract with them until end of season. I will give the maximum next season, because recent years have not been very good for me. I return with great enthusiasm and am eager to show my full potential”.

Sincerely,
Eduard Ballús

comentarios
  1. lilewis dice:

    Nice quote round-up, it is always interesting to see the riders thoughts pre-race,
    muchas gracias!

Responder

