GP ARAGON (RACE): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 1 octubre, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

DANI PEDROSA (1st – Repsol Honda): “It was good overall, especially after all of the problems at the last race. This weekend I had a crash and broke one bike, so it wasn’t easy for the mechanics, but I was calm and well-focussed. I started well and was able to stay with him and keep the pace. I tried to maintain my rhythm and put some good laps in, so I was able to open up a good gap and the bike was working quite well. The bike was working well overall and especially in the corners. Thanks to all of the mechanics, my fans and my family. This victory is for them”.

JORGE LORENZO (2nd – Yamaha Factroy Racing): “I wanted to follow Dani. In those early stages I wanted to push the maximum possible to stay with him, as we had pulled away from the others. His bike had very good pace and I was unable to catch him. So now we have to think about improving the bike a little bit but we are still in good shape to try and win the championship”.

ANDREA DOVIZIOSO (3rd – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “It was a very good race and I am very happy to be back on the podium. It has been a difficult weekend with the weather but the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Team did a fantastic job and the bike was very strong in the race. It was a very strategic race for me because right from the start I was quite slow in a few corners so I had to work very hard to stay in front of Ben and Cal. I knew Cal would be pushing very hard at the end of the race because a few times we have battled together like this and I have beaten him, so I knew he would not be giving up without a fight. He tried in the same place on the last two laps but at that point he couldn’t stop the bike and I had a better exit speed to immediately take the third position back. And I know I am very strong on the brakes, so going to the last corner I was confident I could keep him behind me. It is great to be back on the podium, so I want to say a big thanks to my crew for doing such a wonderful job again”.

CAL CRUTCHLOW (4th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “Obviously it would have been great to be back on the podium after the disappointment of Misano but credit to Andrea because he did a great job as always and I’m taking nothing away from him. I did my best in those last two laps to take third but I knew he had a little better exit speed than me coming out of Turn 15 and that’s how it turned out. It was impossible for me to try again at the last corner but I am happy with fourth because this result once again shows the huge step I have ma de from last season. Today I was close to the podium and last year struggling to be in the top 10. It was a good result for the Championship too because I pulled a small gap on Valentino and Alvaro. I can go into the last four races with a lot of confidence and hopefully enjoy some more good battles with Andrea. I tried my best to beat him today and didn’t quite manage it, so hopefully next time we are in a fight like that it will be me that comes out on top”.

BEN SPIES (5th – Yamaha Factory Racing): “I struggled a bit with the front tyre today at the beginning and then in the middle of the race. I tried to keep Dovi and Cal at bay as long as I could. Once they passed me I tried to hold onto the back of them in case they made a mistake. The bike was working well we just didn’t have it working as exactly as we needed to stay with them. We did our best they were just too quick in the end”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (6th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Considering how practice went sixth place is a positive result. Obviously I’m not particularly happy with it because I think we can do much better and be fighting for results like Misano but that was always going to be difficult today. I tried my best to chase the second group but it wasn’t possible and I was having to take too many risks so in the end I decided to play it safe and bring the bike home for as many points as possible. It is difficult to race like that and we need to find a solution to our front-end issues if I am going to be able to push this bike week in week out. We have salvaged a difficult situation today but we need to keep working and, knowing this team as I do, I’m sure that’s what they’ll do”.

JONATHAN REA (7th – Repsol Honda): “I’m happy I achieved my goal of reducing the gap to the guys at the front, in the end we managed it by 10 seconds but it was another difficult race as I found myself on my own again. At the beginning I let Álvaro have too big a gap and when I tried to make a push, it wasn’t enough and we were only taking tenths out of him but I’m quite satisfied and I’ve learned a lot. In this race it was quite confusing for me as I was playing with the traction control buttons, the torque settings and the engine braking just to try and figure out what was happening, then there came a point where I told myself just to ride this thing and see what happens. It’s been amazing to get this chance and I’m not totally sure what’s happening for Motegi but my best wishes go to Casey and I hope he comes back and shows the World the rider he is and ends his final season on a high. I want to thank all of HRC and the Repsol Honda Team for this opportunity and for treating me like one of their own, not like a replacement rider, it’s been an amazing experience. This is my tenth year in the Honda family and hopefully I can come back here someday”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (8th – Ducati Team): “It’s a shame about the mistake on the first lap. I was a bit faster than Rea, and when we spread out on the straightaway, and he braked a bit earlier, I went to the right. He couldn’t see me and pushed me close to the curb, and I went straight to avoid him. I should have gone to the inside, not the outside. Without that incident, I think I could have fought with Bautista for sixth place, which was our potential at this track today. In fact, things went better in the race than in practice, when we suffered a lot on acceleration both in the wet and in the dry. We made some changes after the warm-up, and that helped us to lap consistently at a decent pace for the whole race, without using up the tyres too much. This is a positive sign, considering that we were also able to do that at Misano. There’s still much work to do, but it’s also true that for us this was probably the most difficult track among those left on the calendar, so we hope to be more competitive at Motegi in two weeks”.

KAREL ABRAHAM (9th – Cardion AB Motoracing): “I’m happy with how the race went: I quite enjoyed the race itself and ended up with a good result. I’m a bit upset I couldn’t keep up with Valentino Rossi, who caught us up after a mistake at the start of the race. He was simply going quicker, and to try and keep up with him would have been too dangerous. I gave it a try at first, but I braked too late on one bend was forced to run off; fortunately I stayed on the tarmac, so I returned behind de Puniet and Espargaro, and then overtook them once again”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (10th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “I am very happy. Today both my brother and I won our own personal races, so it has been a great day. We have to continue to be just as focused, because shortly we will have three races in a row to contend with. I hope that in Valencia, when the season finishes, that we can be five times as happy because of winning the CRT title. Beating my teammate is never easy, and today was no exception because it was a tough race right to the flag. I pushed my hardest for the entire race, but there was no way of passing Randy beforehand. On the final two laps I had to close in on him and put it all on the line. Maybe today’s result is the hardest fought of the entire season so far. I love having a rival like Randy and I love the team spirit that we have”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (11th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “On the start I was a little blocked in, which is normal when you take off from the fifth row. Luckily I moved up positions quickly, and soon I was the top CRT. I pushed hard to open up a gap, with Rea ahead of me to use as a reference. However, at the halfway point I nearly crashed on turn thirteen and I lost the initial advantage. Aleix and I exchanged numerous passes and Abraham also got ahead of me. We rode as a trio as we passed one another, but I knew that Aleix would push again. He passed me on the corkscrew-imitation series of corners, I tried to get alongside him on the outside and I ran slightly wide. That was when I lost touch with him and couldn’t keep up. It is a shame, because the little mistake that I made affected me a lot. I am still happy, because it was a very interesting race”.

HECTOR BARBERA (12th – Pramac Racing): “The bright spot of today was that I finished the race, even if obviously, it wasn’t where I wanted to be. I had no feeling with the bike and I need to re-acquaint myself, following the long summer break due to the injury and the difficult weekend in Misano. Now we have to look forward, working hard to finish the 2012 World Championship in the best way”.

MICHELE PIRRO (15th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “We have picked up a point which is a nice boost but I am a bit disappointed to be honest because I was hoping for more. We had some problems with the bike after a few laps so for me it was a case of making it to the end and salvaging what I could. It’s a shame because after Misano we were hoping for a better result here but it hasn’t been possible after a tough weekend all round. We’ll try again at Motegi”.

MATTIA PASINI (16th – Speed Master): “I’m not really happy with how this race ended, we could have done better and we could hace completed a better race. On the fourth lap I went straight as I was entering the last turn, when I was trying to close the gap from the riders that were ahead of me, and in that moment I lost a lot of time. From then on , I was on my own and I did all I could to move closer to the other CRT machines. In any case it’s positive that we finished a race and we had a good pace, the bike was working well”.

DANILO PETRUCCI (17th – CAME Iodaracing): “I hoped in a better race, but we have choosen a wrong setting of the bike, but this is normal with just one dry practice in the past days, and this morning we didn’t the warm up for a problem to the front tyre sensor of the Traction Control. We are getting a lot of datas and that will be good for the next races”.

COLIN EDWARDS (18th – NGM Mobile Forward Racing): “Right before we went out we decided to go with the hard tire, which we hadn’t used all weekend, we used it during the test. We didn’t know what was going to happen and as it turns out, using the hard tire in the front was the right choice. Got a good start, got out there and I can’t ask for more, I went faster than during qualifying. I rode hard and then right at the end I got Pirro and tried to put my head down but I couldn’t catch the guys in front of me. The shift lever broke and I decided to finish the last lap to see if we could get some points. Thanks to my team, we worked a lot this weekend, we just got bad luck”.

NICKY HAYDEN (Not classified – Ducati Team): “I spun the tyre a lot on the start but was able to get past Rossi and Johnny Rea. The rear brake wasn’t working great from about halfway around the lap, maybe because I overheated it. I was trying to keep the group in front of me in sight, but I pushed the front in the last turn. I was able to pick it up, but I came up on that wall really fast. I thought I might hit it headfirst if I jumped off, so I let go right before impact. I’m sorry to tear up the bike, but I’m thankful for great safety equipment and to be okay”.

STEFAN BRADL (Not classified – LCR Honda): “Well…it’s difficult to find the right word for me because we are all very disappointed but this is racing. My feeling out there was very good today: good overall package, good start and good firsts laps. I felt very comfortable on braking and then I noticed I could go as fast as guys like Spies and Crutchlow so I wanted to push immediately because I knew that the rear tyre would have dropped towards the end of the race. I overtook Spies and I lost the front in turn 3: maybe I was a bit too aggressive and I am sorry for my Team and my fans. Anyway we are in good shape and really looking forward to the next race”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

