GP ARAGON (1ST DAY): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 28 septiembre, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

BEN SPIES (1st – Yamaha Factory Racing): “It was a good wet session so we’re happy with it, the bike feels good and we’re quick. We got a good setting with the bike sorted and we got some new information with the electronics so we’ll see what happens tomorrow with the weather. As long as everything keeps going smoothly then that’s all we need!”

DANI PEDROSA (2nd – Repsol Honda): “At least we had a full wet session this afternoon to work with the bike and I felt quite good. I was catching the pace step by step, even though the grip was not very high in the rear, and we still have to adjust the setting a little more to improve in some corners. It looks like the weather forecast is also bad for tomorrow, so it will be important to take advantage of the morning practice to be well prepared for qualifying”.

JORGE LORENZO (3rd – Yamaha Factory Racing): “In the morning we could have practiced but we preferred to stay in the box and save the engine life a little. This afternoon with full wet conditions we were able to go out and see what the feeling is with the bike in the rain in case we have a wet race on Sunday. The track is very slippery, we did a lot of laps trying to find the pace but we didn’t try to do one hot lap. Ben and Dani were very fast but the important thing is we made a good comfortable pace”.

NICKY HAYDEN (4th – Ducati Team): “More rain, but you can’t change the weather. This morning we did a couple of laps just to get a feel for things, but we waited once it dried out. It was wet in the afternoon, but I didn’t enjoy riding in the rain as much as I usually do. The track itself was pretty grippy, as we were about ten seconds off my dry time here, which isn’t bad on a track this long, but I was missing some rear grip on corner entry and at the first touch of the throttle. We’ve got to improve that. I only rode with the new chassis today, but with the rain, I’m not really able to give an impression. They’re calling for more rain tomorrow, so we might have to manage the rain tyres. When it dries, this track can chew them up quickly, so we might need to make sure we save enough for qualifying. We’ll see what tomorrow brings”.

ANDREA DOVIZIOSO (5th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “I am happy with the set-up of the bike because there are no obvious problems to fix, although I’d like to improve the rear traction. I felt good when I tried to take some risks and push at the end of the ses sion. The bike reacted how I wanted, so I am confident I have some margin to improve. I am close to the top and it is a good start to the weekend, even if we did lose another session this morning. The only thing I hope for the rest of the weekend is some dry track time before the race. I don’t want to arrive in the race with no dry time to work on the set-up because then you are not fully prepared, so I hope whatever the conditions are tomorrow will be the same on Sunday”.

STEFAN BRADL (6th – LCR Honda): “This second outing in the wet was not that bad for us. From the start I had a good feeling with my bike in the wet and the whole package was functioning in the right way. We tried to improve my front feeling because I was struggling a bit in the downhill corners and we made a little suspension modification which worked well. When the surface started to dry up a little bit I felt too much pressure on the tyres but at the end I think we are in a good shape and well prepared for another rainy day on track”.

CAL CRUTCHLOW (7th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “I am pleased with my pace in the full wet conditions as I was right near the top and confident I could have finished inside the top three. I had a small problem with the steering damper right at the end and without that I am sure I would have been much higher than seventh. We have to take another step tom orrow if the conditions are the same but I am confident I can be very competitive in the wet. The set-up of the bike is good and with some improvements if we have more rain tomorrow, I’ll be looking to be back on the front row again. I hope the rest of the weekend though is dry and the fans can see a good race”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (8th – Ducati Team): “We had a problem with the gearbox on the bike we were using, and I lost a bit of time in the garage. We had to prepare the second one in a hurry, and then I rode with that. It’s a shame because with these conditions, the tyres only get up to temperature after a few laps, so when I was able to go back out, I didn’t have time to push hard. Our potential is certainly better than this. We can be more competitive, and we’ll try tomorrow in qualifying which, according to the forecasts, could be wet like today. We’ll try to get a good starting position and then we’ll see for Sunday, because it looks as if the race might be dry”.

KAREL ABRAHAM (9th – Cardion AB Motoracing): “First session was affected by Danny Webb´s crash in Moto3. There was lot of oil on the track and it should be pretty risky to ride on it. Afternoon was completely different. I did seventeen laps almost without entering garage. Bike set up isn´t bad, we have only one problem with the rear, we are not able to warm the tyre enough. We are looking forward to tomorrow hoping that weather will be better”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (10th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Another wet day! This morning we weren’t able to ride because the conditions were half wet and half dry and it would have been useless. In the afternoon the rain got heavier and with the track completely wet it was a good opportunity to ride. We had two settings to try and we did two runs. On the first one I just got into my rhythm and then on the second I tried to build my confidence in the wet conditions but if anything I lost it because my feeling with the front was not good. There is more rain forecast for tomorrow so we need to work hard on the suspension setting because I’m also lacking some grip on the rear”.

JONATHAN REA (11th – Repsol Honda): “It’s been pretty frustrating because I feel like we’ve lost another day, it’s the same story as Misano! It was the first fully wet session we’ve had and the big difference for me was with the tyres and when they lose traction you can play with the rear grip slightly. I was riding a little too cautious today and I feel I need to push the tyres more and be more comfortable with the bike moving around. I wasn’t too happy with myself as in the last few laps this afternoon I was on personal best sectors and I made a few mistakes as the front tyre didn’t feel very stable. I guess we need to be thankful we were able to test here a few weeks ago and we completed over a hundred laps so for the dry we should be ok, but in the wet my feeling is still not 100%. Let’s see what the conditions bring tomorrow”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (12th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “Today was another strange day. In the morning I didn’t go out, because a rider had left oil on the track and it was dangerous -I preferred to wait until the afternoon. The asphalt was completely dry then and it was raining non-stop. We got to work and in the end made three runs. In the first one we made a few changes, which were positive. In the second run I had problems with my helmet visor and in the last I made some big improvements. I am satisfied, because we never took a step back. We were the top CRT and can also be happy with this, because there is still room for improvement that we will look for tomorrow. I think that we made a good start today and are prepared for a wet race on Sunday if it turns out that way”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (13th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “The day went well, despite the rain. In the morning we were unable to ride much, because the track was partially damp. I put in a couple of laps but couldn’t get a good feel for things, because at some points the bike was sliding around a lot. In the afternoon I felt very much at ease in the wet. I am very happy, because I was awful in the wet at the start of the year; at Le Mans I had a nightmare and I was lapped, but I’ve improved and now I feel excellent on a wet track. I’m having a lot of fun in the conditions, which I didn’t expect, so I am satisfied with that and we shall have to work hard tomorrow in order to be as fast as possible in qualifying”.

MATTIA PASINI (15th – Speed Master): “I’m quite happy with how things went in this afternoon practice. We didn’t really get to complete many laps when the track was totally wet, but the bike was working well. If the weather was to stay the same, we already have a few ideas for some changes we could try in order to improve a little. I hope we’ll have the chance to work on dry track for a while during the sessions of tomorrow, so that we can have some useful data in case it’s sunny on Sunday”.

MICHELE PIRRO (17th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Unfortunately the first session was a total waste of time because of the mixed conditions whilst in the second session we were able to get some work done. I am struggling to get a feeling with this bike in the wet so it was important to get some laps in with more rain forecast for tomorrow. Luckily we found out what things we need to change and hopefully tomorrow we can have a bike that will allow me to push harder and close the gap to the top CRT”.

HECTOR BARBERA (18th – Pramac Racing): “Getting back to the track with these poor conditions is the most difficult thing to do. In Misano, two weeks ago, I had a painful weekend after more than a six-week absence through injury so today I tried only to regain the confidence with my bike. I’m sure that tomorrow we will have a much more productive day and I will able to make a big step forward”.

COLIN EDWARDS (21th – NGM Mobile Forward Racing): “This morning we went out and did a few laps, did a shake down and got a couple laps in and found out that we had a connection problem, we will have to do some work on the bike tonight to see if we can fix it. This afternoon it was all about finding the setting of the electronics. We have to figure out how to make the new electronics package work similarly to the one we had in Sachsenring, which shouldn’t be too much of a problem, but trying to fix that in one day is a challenge. We are working in the right direction, I feel comfortable on the track, tires work great, and the bike balance is almost there. We just need to get the electronics sorted and we should be good”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

