GP ARAGON (PREVIEW): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 27 septiembre, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

JOGE LORENZO (Yamaha Factory Racing): “Aragon has not been the strongest track for us in the last two years, but I think we have found something in recent testing which will help us to be more competitive here. We will try to make a good show for all the Spanish fans who come to see us and we will try to win”.

BEN SPIES (Yamaha factory Racing): “We had a really good test here a few weeks ago so I’m hoping the conditions are similar. We’ve got a really good base set up for the track so we should be able to get onto the pace quickly on Friday morning. It was great to have a weekend in Misano with no issues, I’m hoping it will be like this for the rest of the year so we can concentrate on just giving 100% on the track”.

DANI PEDROSA (Repsol Honda): “Aragón is a very good race and the circuit is impressive. We went there with the team for a two-day test at the beginning of this month and we did a good job. Personally, I’m looking forward to seeing the Spanish crowd again, it would be great to see the circuit full of people like we had in the previous years. The bike is working well and I’m feeling good; we go there with the same determination as always and motivated to continue riding well and have another good race”.

JONATHAN REA ( Repsol Honda): “I am now in week four of my five back-to-back races including both SBK and MotoGP but I am still really excited about this coming race. Having tested in Aragón on the RC213V a couple of weeks ago I am feeling more confident coming to this race than I was in Misano. Hopefully I will be able to pick up where I left off after the test as I was really starting to bond with the bike. Aragón has a really long straight which suits the power of the Honda and I am really looking forward to working with the Repsol Honda guys again and building on the experience I have gained to date”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (Ducati Team): “We come to Aragón with a positive outlook after the Misano result, even if we also know that every race has its own story. It will be our first chance to check if the progress we’ve made will also be confirmed at this track, which is very different from Misano. It’s fast and challenging, and managing the tyres at lean angle is very important. Concerning that, during the test after the last race, we tried a swingarm that I liked as it provides a bit more grip with the bike leaned over and stresses the tyres less. Anyway, we’ll see. It will be a chance to understand if we’ve really improved”.

NICKY HAYDEN (Ducati Team): “For me, Aragón is a fun circuit. I like tracks that have a bit of elevation change, and Aragón definitely has some ups and downs. There are also some blind parts that make it technical but also enjoyable, as well as some good places to pass. I’m looking forward to seeing how much better my hand will be than it was at Misano, and also to having the new chassis. I definitely had a little bit better feeling with it at the test, so it will be nice to go there and start with it. I’m sure we’ll need to make a couple of adjustments to the set-up, but I’ll be interested to see how we can get on there”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “The team did a great job at Misano in the only dry session we had available to find a good setting for the bike and even improve it from what we had at Brno. I struggled a little bit to get into my rhythm at the start and lost a few positions but once I felt I could push the bike I was able to recover all the way back up to third. I even tried to attack Valentino for second but my confidence in the front end still wasn’t quite 100% so I decided not to risk a crash and to hang on for a podium. At the end I was happy with the result but also with the way the bike was working. It was a special weekend for the whole team and thanks to them I was able to deliver a fantastic result. It was my first podium in MotoGP and we were able to celebrate it all together. Now after the race at Misano I can go into my next home round feeling confident and highly motivated. We didn’t have such a good time in the test here after the Barcelona race but but with the steps we have made with the bike since then I hope things are different this weekend. Aragon hasn’t been bad to me over the past couple of years so I hope that on Sunday I can be involved in the fight for the podium again, although it won’t be easy. We’ll work hard in practice to find the best possible setting to adapt to the track. Aragon isn’t one of my favourites. It has some fast corners, some hard braking and some difficult direction changes as well as a very long straight. It’s not easy to find a setting that works around the whole track”.

MICHELE PIRRO (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Misano was a fantastic and exciting weekend with all the events organised for Marco and the result has given me a lot of confidence. We started from scratch at Misano with the goal of making a strong finish to the championship and I am confident we can continue in the same way from here. We have closed the gap to the top CRTs and I am confident that in the next rounds we can be fighting to be ahead of them. I like Aragon a lot and I actually made my debut with Team Gresini here in Moto2 a couple of years ago”.

HECTOR BARBERA (Pramac Racing): “I don’t want to mull over the last weeks: it has been a difficult period. I need to think about the present and focus on this race at the MotorLand Aragon. It will be an important stop, rich of positive incentives. The only thing I want now is to get back on the track, working with my crew and achieving the best from these final four rounds. To restart from here, my home soil, with the support of my fans, gives me a special energy and I’m getting ready to take advantage from it. We must do a good job and try to immediately find the right setup for the bike. I like the track, which is very complex and technical and I want to get a nice result”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (Power Electronics Aspar Team): “Motorland is a fast circuit with some steep hills and I find it interesting to ride. I have always had a good feeling there although never managed great results. Hopefully this weekend the result matches the feeling! We want to continue to be the reference point in CRT. I have checked the weather forecast and it looks like it is going to rain although I hope we can get a dry session. We have had a good base setting for the last few races so we won’t touch much this weekend – just a few small tweaks”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (Power Electronics Aspar Team): “Motorland is a track I really like, especially with all the elevation changes. I have good memories of the year I raced there in Moto2 and after slipping up at Misano we need another good weekend now to get the better of Randy any way we can. It has been an interesting battle between us all year and now we have to push hard in the final sprint. Motorland has a lot of blind corners and I especially like the ‘Corkscrew’ in sector two. It is a very complete circuit and you need to ride it well. We’ll be using the same base set-up as Misano and the previous races”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                      Eduard Ballús

Responder

