GP BRNO (2ND DAY): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 25 agosto, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

JORGE LORENZO (1st – Yamaha Factory Racing): “We were struggling so much to find the way to set up the bike this morning, we were very lost. Then we went back to the setting we used the first time we tried the 1000 here in Brno last year and it was great. I really enjoyed riding the bike, sliding more as well with less electronics. I just wanted to stay out on the track and just keep riding and riding to improve the lap time”.

CAL CRUTCHLOW (2nd – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “I am really happy to have scored my best ever qualifying result in MotoGP and the timing couldn’t be better after I signed a new contract with the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 earlier today. This was the perfect way to immediately repay the faith shown in me by Tech 3, Yamaha and Monster. Once again today we demonstrated what a competitive package we have and that is one of the big reasons why I committed my future to the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Team”.

DANI PEDROSA (3rd – Repsol Honda): “I had a small crash at the beginning of the session and unfortunately we were unable to use that bike anymore and had to switch to the second bike. Normally the bikes are very similar and I don’t know why, but this time the second bike was much more rigid and I had more chatter, especially in the front. We tried to fix it but we weren’t able to so in the end I tried to get my best out of it and finally on the last lap I was able to take a front row spot, which is always important. Anyway the bike is working well, I just hope tomorrow we can use our preferred bike, as this morning it felt very good, and have a good race”.

BEN SPIES (4th – Yamaha Factory Racing): “Overall that was a pretty good qualifying session, I made a couple of small mistakes on a couple of hot laps which I think could have put us on the front row. The bike and team are working really well and we’ve got a good pace for the race so I’m hoping for a trouble free day tomorrow to see what we can do”.

ANDREA DOVIZIOSO (5th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “The times we made are really good and I’m really happy with my pace for the race. The difficult point is the same as yesterday, even though the conditions are a lot different. I am close to the limit on the front, especially over the race distance, but I think it will be tricky for everybody. I’d like to improve in this area for the race but I also made a little mistake in calculating when to use the soft tyres. I went out quite early with my last soft tyre so I didn’t have the chance to improve my time right at the end like I normally always do. I had hoped to be closer to Lorenzo but I think we can still be in the fight for the podium again tomorrow. This track is very strong for Yamaha with all four of us in the top five but the key will be the weather. The forecasts are predicting rain so everything could change”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (6th – Ducati Team): “Since Friday morning, things have gone better here at Brno. We’ve managed to be faster and more competitive than normal and, most importantly, to work on the bike well, improving session by session. This afternoon we managed to do a good ‘time attack,’ so we’re generally pretty pleased. It’s important that we’ll be able to start from the second row in the race because it makes things a little easier. The times in our group are very close, but we’ll have to see what conditions we’ll have tomorrow and what our race pace will be. Anyway, I like the track a lot, and if we can manage to perfect a couple more details with the setup, we can try and have some fun”.

STEFAN BRADL (7th – LCR Honda): “Well… It was a difficult qualifying because we made a lot of changes from the morning session to the afternoon and we were expecting more improvements but unfortunately the adjustments did not work properly. We are still struggling with front-end feeling in corners entry. We tried to fix the chattering problems during the qualifying and at the end I could find a better feeling but we are still missing something. The bike potential is bigger than this and I must be sharper in the entry of the corners because there are many downhill breaking areas”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (8th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “We have definitely improved the feeling with the front end of the bike and we set a good pace in race trim at the start of the session. We made a little change to the rear but we switched back to the original configuration because I didn’t like it. Unfortunately I couldn’t improve on the pace I set over the opening laps and I’m not happy about that but I am confident for the race because my feeling with the bike isn’t bad and if I can make a good start we can have a good race like Indianapolis”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (10th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “Qualifying was a bit of a tense affair for me because I crashed on only my second run. I made a mistake trying to brake too late and went straight into the gravel. It wasn’t a big one but I was a little dizzy when I got up. I went back to the garage and decided to wait for the guys to fix the bike. They did a great job and barely fifteen minutes later I was back on track. It was time to put the soft tyres on and I struggled a little to get on the pace at first because I was still a bit dazed. I came back in for another tyre and that time I was able to set a good lap. In the end I was tenth fastest and the top CRT so I want to thank the team for the job they have done. This is a great result but we have to back it up tomorrow”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (11th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “Today has been very positive. I am happy because we have improved a lot from day one after suffering some major rear grip issues. We also had some chatter this morning but we have improved in both aspects and I’m pleased with the way we are responding to problems as they arise. We have put together a good pace, like my teammate, and it looks like between us we have a bit of an advantage over the rest of the CRT riders so it could be a battle between Randy and myself if everything goes to plan. He is very fast over one lap but we’ll see what happens over race distance. I am going to try everything to win and I hope it’s a dry race but I won’t be too bothered if it rains”.

TONI ELIAS (13th – Pramac Racing): “I’m pretty disappointed with today. I hoped to go much better, but we weren’t able to be consistent or even to improve on yesterday’s time. We worked hard during today’s practice sessions, trying different solutions on our Ducati, even if it took quite a lot of time out of our qualifying. Fortunately, in the end, we understood some interesting things, which we hope will help us tomorrow. So I’m still optimistic: we can have a solid race and make up some positions”.

MICHEL PIRRO (14th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “That was just what I didn’t need! I suddenly felt a burning sensation on my leg and tried to get off the bike as quickly as possible. It is incredible really and a big shame because I am sure I could have improved my lap time and grid position. I hope this latest setback is the last bit of bad luck we have this season”.

MATTIA PASINI (16th – Speed Master): “I’m not really satisfied with the result we got today. There are some parts of this track where we struggle a little and, while we were trying to look for a solution in order to improve in those points, we made some choices that weren’t at our advantage for the corners. Now we’ll see where we still can improve and starting from there we’ll make our final decisions. Tomorrow we’ll focus mostly on consistency and we’ll try our best to move up a few positions during the race”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

