GP BRNO (1ST DAY): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 24 agosto, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

DANI PEDROSA (1st – Repsol Honda): “Today we spent time working on the tyres and set up of the bike. We were trying to get the maximum time on the track, as tomorrow we don’t know how the weather will be so it was important to have a lot of time in the dry. The feelings were improving but we still have some work to do especially with electronics and suspension. I was pretty lucky with the incident this morning as it could have been a lot worse. There were two massive rocks that flew up, one hit my left foot hard and the other one hit my screen and chin. At the beginning I thought I had broken something in my foot but fortunately it’s ok, just a lot of swelling, anyway the pain is going down from this morning so that’s a good thing.”

JORGE LORENZO (2nd – Yamaha Factory Racing): “Today was much better than Indianapolis, we tried to improve the bike but we still need to find some solutions for more grip in the corners. I had a small crash in a slow corner, I tried to lean a little more and found the limit of the grip. I’m quite satisfied overall, we are there with Dani fighting for the best lap time every practice which is good”.

ANDREA DOVIZIOSO (3rd – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “I am really satisfied with the work we have done today. Obviously we arrive here in great shape after the fantastic podium in Indianapolis and immediately I was comfortable with the bike and the big positive is in both sessions I was very close to the front. I was only 0.186s behind Dani this morning and 0.197s behind him this afternoon and it is great to start the weekend being so competitive. In every race I have been on the podium this season I have not started this strongly, so hopefully this is a good indication that we will be very strong in the race on Sunday. The good thing about today is we can start to work immediately on improving the set-up of the bike because unlike in Indianapolis, the Brno track isn’t dirty and there was a lot of grip. I’d like it to be a little easier to make the lap time beca use it feels I am quite close to the limit on the front. But we have a plan for tomorrow that should help us in that area”.

CAL CRUTCHLOW (4th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “Today wasn’t a bad start to the weekend because I was fourth in both sessions and very close to Andrea. But we can definitely make some improvements to the bike. This afternoon I struggled quite a lot with the hard tyre and we need to have a look at the data closely to get more of an understanding why. I’ve got good pace on the soft tyre and I’m convinced I can be a bit quicker because I didn’t put in a soft tyre until right at the end of this afternoon’s session. I feel confident for tomorrow and am sure we can challenge for a decent grid position for Sunday”.

STEFAN BRADL (5th – LCR Honda): “The first free session this morning was a bit strange but I knew we had a better potential and finally we made a good practice in the afternoon. I am happy about the 5th position but there’s something to adjust in the overall package especially in the front because it seemed that we overheat the tyre at the end of the session causing some movements. That issue stopped me a bit in recording a good average lap time but at the end the pace was quite consistent. I am in good form and very motivated but we must improve the bike even in the rear because we are not at 100% right now”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (6th – Ducati Team): “I’m happy because we went pretty well today, and in particular, the gap to the front makes us fairly optimistic. This is a beautiful track that I like a lot. It’s where I got my first win and my first world title, and we were also pretty strong here last year on the Ducati. Both of today’s sessions were good. We worked well, trying to find the best setup compromise for this circuit, and when we put on the soft tyre, we were finally able to improve the performance and to do a number of laps not too far from the leaders’ times. The pace is also decent. The riders ahead certainly still have some margin, so tomorrow, in addition to choosing which tyre to use in the race, we’ll have to try to improve a bit ourselves as well. At the moment, the soft is performing better, but we’ll see”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (7th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “The day didn’t finish how we would have liked with the crash near the end of the second session and even though there was no damage to the bike or myself I wasn’t able to improve my lap time. We have been working on the set-up of the bike, looking for better stability in corner entry and we worked hard with the rear tyre but it didn’t give us the grip we need. So the choice will be to run a hard tyre on the front and a soft on the rear, which will give us better stability and allow us to work on other areas of the bike tomorrow. We made a slight change to the swingarm setting and the feeling was positive so I am confident that we are close to where we need to be and we’ll be in a position to challenge for a good grid position tomorrow”.

BEN SPIES (8th – Yamaha Factory Racing): “The second session wasn’t great for us but the first session was really good. We went out in the afternoon and the bike was working really well but we had an older front tyre from the morning on. I just think I might have been pushing a little too hard at that point with the track temperature being a little hotter and we had a small low side crash. Unfortunately the second bike had a very different setting on it, which I wasn’t comfortable on. It was too far off to really make a step forward. We know the pace is good with the original setting so we’ll work on improving that tomorrow”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (9th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “We had a good session this morning when we put the soft tyre in and had a lot of grip mid-corner. We changed a few things with the gearbox setting this afternoon and it didn’t work so we’ll have to take a step backwards tomorrow. We have also done some tyre testing and again the feeling wasn’t the same as this morning but it is important to try these things in practice so you can rule certain things out. At the end of the session we got back into the groove we had this morning so we’ll use those same settings tomorrow”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (10th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “I am happy with this afternoon’s session because we improved a lot from this morning. I wasn’t feeling comfortable with the bike but we made some big changes on my second bike and went back to the setting we had at Mugello. Like Brno it is a fast track and quite similar in a few other ways so we were able to make some big improvements quite quickly and my lap time was dropping further when we ran into some traffic at the end. Anyway this afternoon’s session has given me confidence for the rest of the weekend. Everything we tried worked so we know what we need to do tomorrow”.

TONI ELIAS (11th – Pramac Racing): “I’m quite satisfied. My feeling, both with the bike and the team, is improving a lot compared to the Laguna Seca and Indy races. Today’s goal was to beat the time of 1’58, but I was not able to achieve that time. Tomorrow I’ll grit my teeth, to decrease my lap times by one second or more. I’m confident that we can do a steady step forward”.

MICHELE PIRRO (13th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “We managed to set a decent time and we are not far behind the best CRT in terms of lap time and position but we still have to work on a few technical problems that prevented me from being able to push consistently today. We’ll work on that tomorrow and try our best to obtain a good starting position for the race on Sunday”.

MATTIA PASINI (15th – Speed Master): “We knew this was a track that is a little more difficult for us, after the last few GP rounds. Today, what’s more, we had to deal with some chattering on the front, and therefore we preferred to focus on that, trying to improve the performance of my ART machine. Now we’ll work to achieve a good feeling with the bike and to be stronger in tomorrow’s sessions, once we sort out the data we put together today”.

COLIN EDWARDS (16th – NGM Mobile Forward Racing): “The morning started out alright, the feeling was ok. We made some changes and obviously made it better than this morning. With the gearing, we didn’t know what the gearing here so we played around with different gears trying to figure out what works best. This afternoon, what we thought was going to be good is basically the same. Our main concern is still the electronics; they are not yet consistent enough”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

