INDIANAPOLIS GP (PREVIEW): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 17 agosto, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, ,

JORGE LORENZO (Yamaha Factory Racing): “I really enjoy riding the Indy track, and have good memories here from my podiums in 2008 and 2010 and my great win in 2009. Last year I really struggled with grip in the race so I hope we can improve that this year. I’ve had a nice break but also been training to make sure I’m fit for this weekend!”.

BEN SPIES (Yamaha Factory Racing): “It’s going to be great to get out in front of all the US fans again, I love racing in America, the reception is always awesome. Indy is a track we go well at, and is pretty special to me for my first GP podium. I’m hoping we can make it three years in a row on the podium here!”.

DANI PEDROSA (Repsol Honda): “I had a very good summer break; in these two weeks I was able to relax a little, enjoy time with friends and get back into my training. At this time of year, Indianapolis is normally very hot so fitness is always key. I enjoy riding at this track and I’ve had good results in the past. I am really looking forward to this race and will fight to win and maintain the consistency we have showed in the first part of the Championship”.

CASEY STONER (Repsol Honda): “After the great win in Laguna, we’ve had a nice break in the U.S., it’s always good to take some time off here and spend some time with some friends. I’m not the biggest fan of Indy, mainly because we don’t go on the historical track but the infield and in the wrong direction! The track is very flat and plain, also very tight. There are a couple of corners that can be fun but the majority are difficult, tight and there isn’t any natural flow to the track. It’s nice to visit a track with such great history but it’s a shame we don’t really experience any of that. We’ve had some good results there and won last year, but we’ll have to wait until we get there to see how the RC213V will work around there this year”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (Ducati Team): “This break served as an opportunity to make important decisions for the future, but now I want to return to thinking about the races because we want to improve and during the weekend it’s important to focus completely on what we have to do on the track. Indianapolis isn’t one of my favourite circuits, although I do have a win there. It’s a particular track because it’s one of those that goes in the opposite direction, so the lines are a bit strange in many of the corners. It’s a tricky track, but we’ll try to do our best and have fun”.

NICKY HAYDEN (Ducati Team): “Laguna was fun, but Indy is really my home GP, just across the state line from Kentucky. Hopefully we can do a good result. We struggled more at Laguna than I expected, but Indy is much faster, with more opportunities to open the throttle. It should be nice to ride that track on the 1000s, and it will be fun for the American fans to really get to see them in action. Last season, tyre wear was critical there, but hopefully the pavement will come in a bit better this year. I hope to be competitive starting on Friday, and I’ll definitely be disappointed if we don’t get the best result of the season so far”.

STEFAN BRADL (LCR Honda): “The first part of this season has not been quite positive for us but not fantastic. Fantastic would be to be on the podium every race! But we can be happy; I’m happy so far. We’re improving every time and so far we have not been making too many mistakes, which is important for the first season; to learn as much as I can. I am very happy to be the only MotoGP Red Bull branded rider this week end. The bike looks fantastic and want to thank Red Bull Management for this great opportunity”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Laguna Seca did not produce the result we were hoping for because I struggled for confidence with the soft front tyre there. On the Saturday we found a decent rhythm on that tyre but on Sunday the track conditions were slightly different and it upset the front end so much that I couldn’t brake as hard as I wanted into the corners. We didn’t have the confidence to run at a competitive pace and even though I managed to finish the race with some decent points it was not a true reflection of our potential. After that disappointment I took a few days to relax by the seaside but I have kept up to my training programme and I am ready to race again in America. I have also had a good opportunity to catch up with family and friends so now I am ready to get back to work and get competitive again like we were before Mugello. I have always had good results at Indianapolis and the track should suit the characteristics of our bike. We will try and test the tyres properly during practice to make sure that we don’t have a repeat of the last race. I am feeling confident and highly motivated. Indianapolis is a unique circuit because it is anti-clockwise and completely flat, with some slow sections and a very long straight where you need good top speed. Last year I remember having some problems with the front tyre because of the recent resurfacing but hopefully that’s not an issue this time”.

MICHELE PIRRO (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Laguna Seca was our third non-finish in a row, this time because of a collision with another rider in the first corner. It’s a shame because I really liked the circuit and was enjoying riding there. July wasn’t a lucky month for me but together with the team I want to stay positive and focus on overcoming our problems in the best possible way. We have been getting more competitive and our pace is getting closer to the top CRTs so we want to continue that for the remainder of the season. Over the break I have had a bit of a holiday on the beach but I’ve been training hard too. I have tried to get the right balance of hard work and rest ahead of our next trip to America. I raced at Indianapolis last year and our objective there is to get back to the level we showed at Assen. I am confident we can achieve it”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (Power Electronics Aspar Team): “After Laguna Seca I spent a few days at Colin Edwards’ house and had a lot of fun. We rode some dirt bikes and motocross bikes and then after that I went to stay with some friends in the Bahamas. It has been a nice holiday with plenty of opportunity to relax but I have also been doing sport every day. Now it is time to turn our minds back to racing. It is two weeks since the USGP so I am looking forward to getting back on the bike. We’ll continue with the same approach that we have had up to now and hope for a little more luck than the last race, when I was punted off track in the first corner. Indianapolis is not one of my favourite circuits, it is very tricky because of the track surface, but our objective is the same as always, which is to finish as the top CRT”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (Power Electronics Aspar Team): “The break came at a good time for me. I needed to switch off and the time has flown by but I was able to spend it at home with family and friends and relax on the beach. I have also kept up to my daily training plan to make sure that I am fit and full of motivation for Indianapolis. The championship is long and tough. Luckily for us things have gone well in the first half of the season but we need to keep working hard to keep it going. My team-mate is a very strong rival and we are currently tied on points so we can’t afford to lose concentration for one moment because every race promises to be a constant battle. I quite like Indianapolis. I struggled with the Moto2 bike last year because it was sliding around a lot but it is a different kind of track and I love the straight because you get to ride part of the famous oval”.

COLIN EDWARDS (NGM Mobile Forward Racing): “I am excited for this second home race for me, its always good when family and friends are around. I’m looking forward to having a good weekend here at Indy and that we make the bike work”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

