GP MUGELLO (RACE): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 16 julio, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

JORGE LORENZO (1st – Yamaha Factory Racing): “From the beginning I felt great on this track, the asphalt was completely different to Sachsenring which was a nightmare for us. From the first practice here I felt very strong, very good on the bike and a fast constant pace. Today I was hammering a lot to open a gap at the beginning of the race as I thought my competitors would have problems on cold tyres. Unfortunately I couldn’t do it immediately. Only hammering every lap and going faster and faster from 1’48.1 then into the 47s could I open a bit to Pedrosa then little by little it got better and I could start to breathe. It’s been a great win for the whole team’s efforts and for Yamaha who have given me such a good bike”.

DANI PEDROSA (2nd – Repsol Honda): “I braked late at the first corner but I missed something and Jorge was already there. Then a few corners later I was surprised by Dovizioso, he passed me also and it took a few laps for me to make the overtake on him as he was very strong in the first corner so I had to pass him in another part of the circuit. By this point Jorge had already opened up a small gap but I tried to get back in my rhythm and I started to lap in the 1’47’s. When I started to drop into these times though, my tyre began to spin a lot in the rear and I got some chatter so I was worried for the tyre. At this point I decided to slow down a little because to catch Jorge meant laps in 1’47’s. He was riding very strong so I have to congratulate him, finally for me a second place is a good result overall and I want to thank all the team for their hard work this weekend”.

ANDREA DOVIZIOSO (3rd – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “To get a podium is always special but to do it in front of the Italian crowd and after such a strong battle makes it feel even better. I got the perfect start and was third at the first corner and I felt very strong in braking at the start so passed Dani at Turn 5. Immediately though I could see that Lorenzo was faster in some parts of the track, but it was good to see again the small points I need to improve to get the best out of the Yamaha. The fight with Bradl for the whole race was fantastic and he did a great job. He didn’t give up but I am so happy with another podium and I want to say a big thanks again to my Monster Yamaha Tech 3 crew. We are working so well together and our results show it”.

STEFAN BRADL (4th – LCR Honda): “It’s a fantastic feeling for me and the whole Team. Doubtless a podium finish would have been simply perfect but I am extremely happy about this great result on this track. I think that our asset was perfect since the beginning of the race because in the last couple of races we struggled a bit too much with full fuel tank and could not feel the front tyre properly but here we made a different set up. It worked perfectly on this special layout but at the end of the race I missed a bit of front end feeling on braking. So I preferred to stay calm and Dovi passed me but after that I was trying to follow him and it was pretty easy for me. Then Hayden put in a brave move on me but he had not the best exit on the right corner and I could passed him again. Probably my manoeuvre looked a bit aggressive on TV but I think it was normal for a last lap. Being so close to the podium is fantastic and I feel happy for the team: they support me in the best way every weekend and especially Lucio. He is a hard worker and with this great result I want to give him something back”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (5th – Ducati Team): “Overall, I think today was the best dry result of the year for Ducati, because Nicky had a great race as well. We’re quite happy, as our pace was very good, especially toward the end. Unfortunately, I lost time at the beginning. Not only was I on the fourth row, but I also had a bad start. I got by some riders pretty quickly, but by then I had already accumulated too much of a disadvantage. Otherwise, I think it would have been possible to make the podium. We’re having too much trouble in practice. Normally we’re able to have a decent rhythm with the hard tyres, but when we put on the soft, we can’t manage to cut those six or seven tenths that the others drop. For two races, we’ve worked on a setting that allows us to be consistent until the end of the race, but at the same time, it gives me more trouble with the front. When I put on the soft tyre, the extra grip makes that problem worse and I’m not able to effectively initiate corner turn-in. We have to work on that area. We have a test day tomorrow, so we’ll see”.

CAL CRUTCHLOW (6th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “My start and the first five laps pretty much decided my race because I got a terrible start. Once I found my pace I was pretty comfortable but I didn’t have a very good feeling on a full fuel tank and that is something we need to work on. The battle with Valentino was fantastic and I learned a lot from him. His knowledge of this track is unrivalled and his consistency was awesome. I was faster than him in the final section but I was not close enough to pass him on the brakes and he had a fast bike down the straight. I did everything possible but he is incredible on the brakes and didn’t give me a chance. I also want to say congratulations to Andrea. He is doing a phenomenal job and to get three podiums in a row in this class is a great achievement. He did it in front of his home crowd too and it shows what an unbelievable job the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Team is doing in 2012”.

NICKY HAYDEN (7th – Ducati Team): “I got a good start, but I was spinning a lot in the beginning, and I thought I was going to destroy the tyre. Once I went to a smoother map, I was able to really start driving off the corners and bringing the group back. Those last seven, eight laps, I really gave it everything; I wasn’t sure I was going to finish, but I was sure I was going to go for it. On the last lap, after I went by Bradl for fourth, I was only thinking about trying to pass ‘Dovi’ and get the Ducati on the podium, so I don’t regret the fact that I tried. In the end, we can’t be happy with seventh, but I hope all the Ducati fans that came to support us can be proud of this team this weekend. They gave me a good bike, and we really had a shot at the podium today”.

CASEY STONER (8th – Repsol Honda): “It’s definitely not the way we planned it, we thought today we could be fighting for the podium and maybe have the pace to stay with Dani. Jorge has ridden fantastically all weekend and hasn’t really put a foot wrong but I think a third position would have been good today. However, we just couldn’t get the bike working. During our last attempts in warm up we couldn’t get anything to work, we weren’t very happy with the bike today and I just didn’t feel comfortable. I made a mistake in the race, I had a bit of a shake exiting turn 11 and when I arrived at turn 12 I had no brakes, I was squeezing them as hard as I could and thought I had enough brake power to stop before the edge of the track but I had too much momentum and had to ride through the gravel trap which wasted a lot of time. I’m sorry for the incident with Álvaro, I went to make the pass into turn 2 and he started to close my front off and I couldn’t do anything”.

HECTOR BARBERA (9th – Pramac Racing): “I’m really disappointed and a bit mystified because I’ve felt good all weekend and we got the bike working really well on this track. I don’t know what happened during today’s 23-lap race, but I struggled a lot to find the right confidence with my bike, especially when I had to change direction, as my Ducati slid a lot. And at this track you have got a lot of fast changes of direction that are crucial to setting good times and maintaining a fast race pace. Both the air temperature and the track temperature were quite similar to yesterday and I don’t understand what changed compared to the practice sessions. Today I didn’t enjoy myself and it was a shame, because Mugello is one of my favourite tracks”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (10th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Thank goodness this weekend is over because from the first moment I have struggled to get confident with the bike here. It is strange because at all the other circuits we’ve been to so far we have been close to the guys at the front but here we have been unable to get on the pace. It has got to be down to the fact that we usually use the soft tyre and here we were forced to use the hard tyre for the race. We had to work around this and it made everything difficult for us, as did the three crashes and the brake problem. In the race I didn’t have feel or grip on the rear – we made it to the end but I’m not happy. I just hope that in the next race we are not forced to make this choice and are able to work with the soft tyre because it suits our set-up and my riding style. I want to thank the team because they have worked so hard all weekend and I am disappointed for them and the sponsors here at their home Grand Prix”.

BEN SPIES (11th – Yamaha Factory Racing): “I’m so disappointed, not just for me but for my whole team and Yamaha who have worked so hard this weekend. I was feeling really not right from before warm up this morning and it just got worse over the day. I was struggling to put three laps together at a time in the race and fighting waves of dizziness and trying not be physically sick in my helmet. Clinica Mobile did their best to help me before the race but it was a huge challenge to focus on the bike at the speeds we do”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (12th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “I am very happy. This is the third time in a row that we have reached our target of being the top CRT. These past two races there has even been a big difference between us. My start wasn’t great, but I quickly focused on finding the pace that I had in practice. Soon I was riding alone, and once again it was a tough race in which I had to struggle to keep my concentration. I saw Spies ahead of me and he was useful as a reference point for keeping my pace up. I caught up to him and passed him, but he was able to return the favour before the line. I am very satisfied and I think that my team did a sensational job. It is very rewarding to take results like today’s and I hope to do the same at the next GP. We have a good base and I think that at Laguna Seca we can get another great result”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (13th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “Today I started very well and on the first corner I was able to pass two official bikes on the outside. The opening two laps were really fun. Then, with the tank still full, I was unable to get a good pace going and I noticed that the bike wasn’t cornering well. I wasn’t comfortable, lost concentration and ran off track when I locked up the front. I recovered as well as quickly as I could and focused fully, trying to do my best to recover positions. I went fast and was able to cross the line as the second best CRT, behind my teammate Randy. I am happy, because I kept up a good pace despite the run-off, but our aim is to be the best CRT, so we will have to work hard and try again at Laguna Seca”.

MATTIA PASINI (15th – Speed Master): “This race went quite well. It’s a shame how the last two laps turned out, we had a good start and we had a consistent pace. I was behind De Puniet for a few laps, then I lost a little from him and I spent the central part of the race on my own. At the end of the race Ellison and Espargaró reached me: they overtook me and I tried to fight back, but it was tough. In the corners we are competitive and fast, now we’ll try to make some further steps forward to improve the performance of the ART machine”.

DANILO PETRUCCI (Not classified – CAME Iodaracing): “I did a good start and I was fighting in the CRTs’ leading group, but during the fourth lap at Poggio Secco corner I lost the front of my TR003 and I crashed out. We were quite competitive on this track and this is very positive looking to Laguna Seca race”.

COLIN EDWARDS (Not classified – NGM Mobile Forward Racing): “I don’t have much to say, basically it’s the problems we have been having all year. When ever Espargaro run off and passed me it was kind of the icing on the cake, whatever issues I was having with traction control it just made it really hard to ride and unsafe and had to enter pits. Thanks to everybody for their efforts”.

MICHELE PIRRO (Not classified – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “I am really disappointed to have to retire with the same problem as Qatar and Germany. I practically changed gear twice and my race was over. I knew it was going to be a hard year working on a new project like this but to have the same problem twice is bitterly disappointing for me, the team, and the guys who always get through so much work. I would have liked to put on a good show in my home race but what can I say? We just have to hope for better luck at Laguna Seca”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

