GP MUGELLO (1ST DAY): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 14 julio, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

JORGE LORENZO (1st – Yamaha Factory Racing): “I’m really happy because from the beginning we’ve been quite fast. We haven’t had to make many changes to the bike, the feeling is great with the track and it’s working well. I feel good with the suspension, throttle and braking. Everything seems quite clear, we have to work on some small details but we’ve made an excellent beginning”.

DANI PEDROSA (2nd – Repsol Honda): “We had some troubles with the tyres in the morning, but in the afternoon we made a step forward that I’m happy with in order to keep improving tomorrow. We struggled to get up to the pace a little in FP1, but during the day we were getting closer to Lorenzo, who seems to have the set up quite clear from the beginning. In the afternoon we wanted to complete the 12 laps Bridgestone requested on the standard hard option tyre. I went out planning to make this long run on my first exit but I couldn’t complete it due to the red flag. Anyway, we finished the day quite well and we have some ideas for tomorrow; we need to find some more grip and better braking to gain three or four more tenths”.

NICKY HAYDEN (3rd – Ducati Team): “Things started out pretty well this morning. I did a 14-lap run with times that were steadily pretty good. From there, we haven’t really made a big step with the hard tyre. My best time was with the soft, which we tried for a couple laps just to make sure there are no surprises when we put it in for qualifying. We’re struggling a bit with grip on rear entry, which hasn’t been the case lately, but we have some ideas to try. This track is tough, but I like it, and there’s still time to improve before Sunday”.

HECTOR BARBERA (4th – Pramac Racing): “I’m happy about these sessions and I’m feeling quite good, even if I crashed out. We were making a long run to test the new tyre compound, when I crashed. I didn’t have a great feeling while I was trying the new tyre, but I decided to finish the long heat to understand the new Bridgestone’s potential. Unfortunately, after a few laps, I crashed in the gravel at high speed but I escaped relatively unscathed. In the last minutes of the afternoon session I used a new soft tyre and this allowed me to regain the confidence with my Ducati, storming into the top four”.

ANDREA DOVIZIOSO (5th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “I am really happy with the way my home race has started. I arrive in Mugello in front of my home supporters full of confidence after the podiums in Assen and Sachsenring and we have made a positive start. We made a big improvement to the set-up of the bike this afternoon. I have more feeling with the front-end and I was much faster than in the morning, even though the conditions were worse. The temperature was hotter but the wind was much stronger this afternoon, so I’m happy to have improved by so much”.

CASEY STONER (6th – Repsol Honda): “We haven’t had a great day and aren’t too impressed with our pace on the bike. This morning we began very far off the pace and slowly made our way forward. This afternoon we were trying to get the hard tyre to work, but every time we went out it didn’t work so we came back in to try something different and then go back out but it was still the same. We can’t seem to get the same tyre temperatures that the others are getting at the moment, we’re trying to find it through different set ups, but we haven’t found it just yet. We have some thinking to do tonight and will try to come back tomorrow with something different”.

BEN SPIES (7th – Yamaha factory Racing): “It wasn’t a bad day, nice and hot. The first session was ok, then the second session we tried a couple of different bike settings and wasted a bit of the time finding something that didn’t work. We went back to the setting we know that works and had it going pretty well by the time the tyres were pretty used. I’m happy we were doing the times we were with race distance on the tyres and we know we can make the bike better for tomorrow. We need to be a bit closer to the front but the bike’s working well so we just need to make some fine adjustments”.

CAL CRUTCHLOW (8th – Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “It was a decent day and my final position in eighth is probably not a true indication of my speed at the moment. I am sure I could be much faster but I didn’t really push for a fast time and concentrated a lot on working on the set-up for the race. There are a couple of areas we can improve the bike but I am confident we can do that and I will be fighting for a good grid position tomorrow”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (9th – Ducati Team): “We wanted to do a long run this afternoon to check the tyres, but I had to interrupt it due to a problem with chatter. We had made a change to the fork setting compared to the morning and maybe that was what caused it because after returning to the previous setting and making some other small changes to the setup, it immediately worked a bit better. Anyway, I kept using the same tyre for the entire session, about 20 laps, and I did my best time at the end. Tomorrow we’ll try again to do a long run, although there shouldn’t be any big problems with temperature or endurance here. We didn’t try the soft tyre today, so tomorrow we’ll also see how we go with that. There are still a few things to adjust, especially on the second half of the track, because I’m quite fast on the first part. We have some ideas, and we’ll see tomorrow”.

STEFAN BRADL (10th – LCR Honda): “Actually it has not been the perfect day for us because I can not get the bike breaking in the proper way so we need to fix this. We made some adjustments getting some improvements but it’s still not good enough. Basically we are struggling too much with edge grip and we are losing consistence in every section but we are not completely lost. We will work hard to reduce the gap because I love this circuit and I aim to stay up in the pack”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (11th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Today was a day to forget, unfortunately not a good one for us. This morning I had a problem with the brakes and ran straight into turn one, then crashed in the gravel. We didn’t manage to solve the problem and I wasn’t able to ride as I want. In the afternoon we worked on the set-up but I crashed almost straight away, losing the front with no warning. I changed onto the other bike but the brake problem hadn’t been fixed and I was really struggling under braking. We changed the disc and pads and managed to put some decent laps together at the end on used tyres. But we have a lot of work to do tomorrow to improve my confidence and my position”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (12th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “I am really happy with the work we have done today and surprised by our pace this afternoon. We didn’t expect to set these lap times already on day one and thought we would be losing out a lot more to the factory bikes down the straights. The bike is working well and we have to keep going like this. I am looking forward to getting back out there in the morning and making sure we are totally ready for qualifying. I would like to have a good race here in front of the company that made this bike. We have found a good base to work from and have a new engine to put in tomorrow that should help”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (13th – Power Electronics Aspar Team): “We have started well and the feeling with the bike is great. The afternoon session was going well until we ran into a gearbox problem that we have suffered before. It sent me straight on a couple of times, but thankfully I managed not to crash. Something was broken, so we switched to the second bike but only got two laps in. Anyway, I want to be positive and the good thing is we have the pace so I’m sure will work on the problem tonight and fix it for tomorrow”.

MICHELE PIRRO (14th – San Carlo Honda Gresini): “This is the first time at this track so the others have an advantage having already ridden here. We are slightly more behind the best CRT than we have been in recent weeks, when we have been really close. Obviously we will keep working to reduce the gap and I am optimistic we can do it”.

MATTIA PASINI (16th – Speed Master): “This morning everything went well, I had a good feeling with the bike and it all worked as it had to. In the session of the afternoon, however, we had a good start, but soon after we got slowed down by some chattering. This prevented me from being as fast as I wanted. Now we’ll go over the data and check what happened. We’ll work to understand what provoked the problem and to be competitive. It’s my home GP and I’d really like to do well, I want to fight with the other ART machines”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

