GP MUGELLO (PREVIEW): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 13 julio, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

JORGE LORENZO (Yamaha Factory Racing): “After two very difficult race weekends we arrive at Mugello, where we delivered a great victory last year. I love the track; it’s very fast and should be a good one for our bike. I’m very happy to be leading the Championship but we still have many races to go so our target is to again aim for the podium and victory if it is possible”.

BEN SPIES (Yamaha Factory Racing): “Sachsenring was a very difficult race for us, with the different weather conditions it proved to be hard to find the right set up. Having found something that worked on Sunday we were then unfortunately compromised by a lack of side grip so were unable to ride to our full potential. Mugello is a much faster track which should suit our bike well so I can’t wait to get started on Friday”.

DANI PEDROSA (Repsol Honda): “I’m really looking forward to getting to Mugello and try to keep this momentum in a circuit that I also love, for the layout and the great atmosphere. It’s a very demanding track physically; last year I got there very weak due to the injury and I couldn’t manage a good race, but we had a nice win in 2010 and I feel good now and ready to enjoy riding there again. Mugello is a completely different track, it’s important to have a very fast bike in these corners and to get our strong points out in the track, we must take profit of the power of our Honda engine. The first win in Sachsenring has been great for me and my team, we are closer in the Championship on points, but one win will not give us the title. I’ve kept cool without winning and we will not relax now because we have the first one. This season you have to be almost perfect in every race to get a win, so we will keep pushing hard”.

CASEY STONER (Repsol Honda): “I’ve always liked Mugello, we’ve enjoyed some pretty good results there. Last year didn’t go to plan but we know what we did wrong so hopefully this year we can be a little more competitive. I really enjoy the fast corners there, there are a lot of areas where we get a lot of wheel spin and a lot of fast changes of direction. It’s not a small dinky little track that you can’t use these bikes on, it’s actually somewhere where you can open the throttle up and actually get to full throttle. After a disappointing race in Sachsenring, I want to get back on the bike and take some points back in the Championship”.

ANDREA DOVIZIOSO (Monster Yamaha Tech 3): “To arrive here (Mugello) after three podiums means we arrive here with a lot of confidence. I’m looking forward to the track, especially with the new asphalt; I think it will be really good for our bike and my riding style. But it seems to be a good track for everybody, so it’s going to be difficult. We want to have a better race, and I think we have some margin to improve. It looks like it’s going to be hot, so we’ll have a chance to work on the bike and improve my speed”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (Ducati Team): “Last Sunday at the Sachsenring, we used a setup that enabled us to be more consistent and to stress the rear tyre a bit less so that we still had a decent pace at the end of the race. It was our best result of the year so far in the dry, so now we’ll start from that base in an effort to improve at Mugello. It’s the Italian Grand Prix, so everyone, including myself, must make an extra effort to do well in our home race. It’s one of the nicest tracks in the world, in terms of the layout of the circuit, the atmosphere and all the fans that come to watch us and support us. We really have to try to do our best”.

NICKY HAYDEN (Ducati Team): “Although I still have a bitter taste in my mouth about last week’s race, I’m very much looking forward to Mugello. It’s one of the best tracks and races of the whole year, especially being there on a Ducati. I’m sure we’ll have a lot of support, and it’s a pretty busy weekend, but it’s a race and an event that I enjoy. It’s certainly not an easy track, as it’s very technical and you’ve really got to be on your marks there. It will be one of the tracks where we really get to open up the 1000s, and I’m expecting some pretty high top speeds. It hasn’t been an easy track for me with Ducati, but I like it a lot. We need to try to put the whole weekend together and do a good result on Sunday, when it really counts”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Sachsenring was a strange and unique race for me. Starting from the back of the grid is not easy but after a tough start to the race I found my pace, made up ground and ended up fighting to finish fifth. This experience will serve us well for Mugello even though the characteristics of the circuit are very different to Sachsenring. It will be very important to find a good setting if we want to be competitive otherwise you really struggle at this track. I really want to have a good race because this is a very important event for the team. I am sure that the progress we have made over the last few races will see us back in the lead group in Italy”.

MICHELE PIRRO (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “I am still upset about the technical problem that forced me to retire from the race in Germany but I am also confident that the guys will be able to study the data and make sure we don’t suffer this issue again. It was a real shame because I am sure that without it I could have been fighting to be the top CRT at Sachsenring. We will make up for it at Mugello, a circuit where we are obliged to do well in front of our home crowd and sponsors. I am excited about it and can’t wait to get on track and see how competitive our bike is there. The bike is still new and every track is a discovery but on paper Sachsering was not going to suit us and we showed we could be competitive there so that gives us a lot of confidence. I really want to have a great race because a lot of people are coming from my hometown of San Giovanni Rotondo to support me at Mugello”.

STEFAN BRADL (LCR Honda): “I am very excited about next weekend in Mugello. That’s a better circuit than Sachsenring for me. I like the layout and the fast corners and I hope that we can be a bit closer to the front group, because in Sachsenring the final result was pretty good, but we struggled too much with edge grip. I know that the temperature will be very high and the race will be very tough, physically speaking, but I am not worried. Even in Sachsenring it was not easy with a 30-lap race. I am looking forward to sunny Mugello because it’s one of my favourite tracks and I know that it’s a very important race for my team. Most of our supporters will come to see me and this makes more motivated”.

HECTOR BARBERA (Pramac Racing): “We are going to Mugello, thinking about what happened last Sunday. And, after the great battle, in Germany, I’m very confident and motivated to also do a good race here, in Italy. I like Mugello, it is one of the most beautiful tracks in the world and I hope that the weather will be nice. The Pramac Racing crew always does a fantastic job and I believe that we can make another step ahead. We have to be positive after all”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (Power Electronics Aspar Team): “I got to Mugello with a lot of confidence after two great results in the last two races.We have found a really good base set-up for the bike since Assen and I’m able to ride comfortably and confidently. We’ll start out with the same set-up on Friday and I just hope it is as effective as it was at Assen and Sachsenring. Mugello is one of my favourite circuits. It is fast and has a lot of elevation changes and fast corners. You have to ride well to set fast lap times there and I always enjoy it. Our objective are the same here as anywhere else: to be the best CRT and to continue our positive progression over the last few races”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (Power Electronics Aspar Team): “Having so many races so close together is draining but now we go to Italy and we are ready for it. It promises to be a tough race out there because of the heat but I like the circuit and we have an extra day there on Monday for testing so it will be an important weekend. After that we get to rest a little before heading to the USA. The circuit is technical and demanding, one of the longest in the championship and in my opinion one of the most challenging. We’ll be working hard from Friday morning to find a good set-up, which is fundamental to a quick lap time at Mugello”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

