GP SACHSENRING (PREVIEW): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 6 julio, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

JORGE LORENZO (Yamaha Factroy Racing): “Assen was a disaster for us, we worked very hard to build up the Championship lead which unfortunately was lost on the first corner. Anyway, now we start again at the same points as Casey. I haven’t won a race at Sachsenring but have had good battles there and always finished on the podium. That is our goal this weekend, and if possible to fight for the victory. My ankle is quite sore but luckily there is nothing broken”.

BEN SPIES (Yamaha Factory Racing): “We’re really hoping our bad luck is over now and we can realize our full potential this weekend. I’m feeling really confident with the bike and the team has been delivering a great set up for me so we know we can fight at the front. A weekend without any issues would be great so we can just focus on riding the bike!”.

CASEY STONER (Repsol Honda): “I hope we can go to Sachsenring and get another good result especially after our tough, but rewarding weekend in Assen. It’s a very interesting track, maybe not one of the greatest on the circuit but has one of the best corners coming down the hill which is a little scary with spending so much time on the left before switching to the right side of the tyre. It’s a good atmosphere there though with all the spectators so close to the track, it feels like a Coliseum! There’s always an interesting race there as we saw last year so we’ll see what this weekend has in store”.

DANI PEDROSA (Repsol Honda): “Sachsenring has been a successful track for us in the past, we’ve got some very good results there and it’s a circuit where I always enjoy racing. We had a very good weekend in Assen and we have to repeat it in Germany; hopefully with the first win of 2012 that we are chasing so much. Sachsenring is a short track where the performance of the tyres will again play a big part, because you are leaning on the left a long time and the fastest corner is to the right”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (Ducati Team): “I like the Sachsenring track. It’s difficult because it’s slow and narrow, but it also has some very fast sections, in addition to big elevation changes. It’s quite different from the tracks at the last two rounds, Silverstone and Assen, so we’ll see where we stand with our bike. Last year we had a difficult weekend in Germany, but of course my goal is always to do better every time we return to any track”.

NICKY HAYDEN (Ducati Team): “Some people complain about the Sachsenring because it’s so small and tight, but I like it. The lap times are really short, and usually really close. You hardly ever use sixth gear, but it might have the best corner in MotoGP: the fast, blind, downhill Waterfall corner. When you’re bike’s working, it’s a lot of fun, although I’ve come off there, which definitely wasn’t fun! I like counter clockwise tracks, and I’ve been on the pole and on the podium there. Our bike tends to be hard on tyres, which can be a problem at the Sachsenring, but I think we made a little step with that this past weekend that could help us. I’m looking forward to it”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “I was really unhappy with the crash in the first turn at Assen because we had done a great job in practice and I think we had the setting to have a great race. At Sachsenring we’ll be starting from the back of the grid and as I have already said I think it is an excessive penalty for a racing incident, and whilst I accept it, I do so reluctantly. Our objective has to be to continue working in the same way as up to now and try to pick up as many points as we can in the race. Sachsenring is a short and difficult circuit with no major straights. There are a lot of left-handers and that gets demanding over race distance. The atmosphere is fantastic because it is like a motorcycling festival with so many fans packing the grandstands”.

MICHELE PIRRO (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Overall I am very satisfied with how things are going for us. We took another step forward in the race at Assen even though I was a little disappointed because at one stage I really thought I had a chance of finishing as the top CRT. It’s a shame but I am sure it is only a matter of time”.

STEFAN BRADL (LCR Honda): “Doubtless this weekend will be very special for me. My family, my friends and my fans will be there to support me and this makes me more motivated ahead the race. I am looking forward to this weekend because the crowd will be unbelievable. The track is a bit too small for a MotoGP bike, but there are some good parts especially the last one. After the last race in Assen we know we are capable to fight with the second group and this remains our target for the next races including Sachsenring”.

HECTOR BARBERA (Pramac Racing): “I feel very good after the seventh place in Germany: a shining race that we needed for our confidence. We will tale more power from it for future races, especially for the next two. Now it’s the time for Germany: the track is quite well suited to my riding style and even though it is short it has some fast and flowing corners. I like the track and tend to be quite fast there so I hope to have a great weekend. Our objective as always is to be in the top ten, fighting with the other riders to catch the best result as possible”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (Power Electronics Aspar Team): “We worked really hard at Assen and it was a perfect weekend up until the race. My pace was good and I had a strong chance of finishing as the best CRT but a problem with the engine left us out of the race. It’s an unfortunate blip but it is behind us now and we have to keep working this weekend. Our level is clearly very high and we are not going to let a small setback get us down. At Sachsenring we will be fighting to be the best CRT again. It is a small but fast track, not one of my favourites but I think we can do well there. It should be easier for the CRT bikes to get closer to the factory prototypes and I am looking forward to getting on with it and putting Assen behind us as quickly as possible”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (Power Electronics Aspar Team): “I am still feeling happy and satisfied with the performance at Assen. It was a real team effort and after turning our bad luck around we can focus on maintaining our work ethic and picking up good results. The set-up is getting closer and closer to perfection and the bike is incredibly easy to handle now. We just need to focus on improving performance of the engine. At Sachsenring we’ll have another opportunity to score a good result and my objective will be the same as usual: to be the best CRT. The fact it is such a short track should reduce the gap to the factory prototypes but I don’t want to think about that or take my eye off our primary objective”.

YONNY HERNANDEZ (Avintia Blusens): “I have always felt at ease and got good results at Sachsenring. Last year I finished sixth in Moto2 and I did the fast lap and the track record so it’s all right. I am aware that this track will be more complicated with a CRT, but I have been feeling fine in this class and I sincerely hope to do good. We have to do good. The team deserves it”.

IVAN SILVA (Avintia Blusens): “I am motivated and I have got great expectations for Germany. It’s a pity that I am not familiar with the track so I won’t be able to focus on the setting-up of the bike from the very first training practice but I hope I will adapt fast and do a good job. We got closer to our rivals at Assen and even though we still need to improve distances are growing thinner. In Holland I was riding among the best riders – apart from de Puniet – half-way through the race and I hope I will repeat it here but from the beginning onwards! I need to make a good start so I can stick with the lead pack from lap one onwards”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

