GP SILVERSTONE (PREVIEW): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 15 junio, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

CASEY STONER (Repsol Honda): “I’m definitely looking forward to going to Silverstone, it’s a track that I really do enjoy. I wish that we still went through the old part of the track, unfortunately we don’t go through there now and the new section is very, very tight. The rest of the track is fantastic though, it’s fast and makes the heart beat very quick! The Monday test in Catalunya was a positive step for us, but we’re still far from perfect. We definitely made some progress with reducing the chatter but we will have to wait until we get on track on Friday to see if what we found also works at Silverstone. Again, we’ll be hoping for dry weather so we can maximise every minute of track time to prepare for Sunday’s race”.

DANI PEDROSA (Repsol Honda): “I missed the Silverstone race last year due to my injury, so I’m especially excited to go back racing at this track. As I said after the test we did in Catalunya, we were working a lot on different settings on the bike, we had some improvements and I hope we can make another step forward in Silverstone. It’s a fast track, with many changes of direction and we need an agile bike and a good set up for both the fast and slow corners. In Britain, the weather is always very unstable, but let’s see if we are lucky this time and we can enjoy dry conditions”.

JORGE LORENZO (Yamaha Factory Racing): “Silverstone is a track I like very much. In 2010 I think I did the best riding of the season, we won with a big advantage. Unfortunately last year it rained and I crashed trying to catch Casey. Let’s see if this year we can repeat the 2010 race. It’s a track which is very positive for Yamaha so I am confident we can achieve a good result”.

BEN SPIES (Yamaha Factory Racing): “I’m really looking forward to getting back on the bike as soon as possible. We had a good test in Spain and apart from the crash in Barcelona we were really competitive with a great bike. I think Silverstone will be really good for the Yamaha so I’m hoping to get the set up right as quickly as possible with the guys and focus on delivering a good result on Sunday. I really like the track and it’s obviously special for me as it’s where I got my first MotoGP podium”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (Ducati Team): “I have a one-season ‘disadvantage’ at Silverstone compared to the other riders, who started a year ahead of me, so I’ll have to ride as much as possible during the practice sessions in order to understand the track well, as last year was quite difficult. During the Aragon test last week, we found some small things with the electronics and worked a bit on the settings. Now we’ll see how it works in England. We hope I’ll be able to ride well, that we’ll find a good setup and that we can stay at the same level in the dry as we were at the Barcelona GP, although our chances will be better if it rains”.

NICKY HAYDEN (Ducati Team): “It’s exciting to go to Silverstone. We’ve been there two years now, but each time it’s been a little different, with changes to the pavement or the pit complex, so it’s a little like going to a new track. With the lap being so long, you’ve really got to take advantage of any dry time you get to find a good setup, as the sessions go by really quickly. There are so many different corners, and it’s really important to dial in the electronics for all the sections. I’d say we lean on the electronics more there than at some other tracks. It’s fast and open, with high-speed corners, and I really like it. The last couple of races haven’t been great, but we just have to hang in there and try to take a step. It won’t be easy, but I’m looking forward to the weekend”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “Catalunya was a good race for us but it was a difficult one because of where we started from on the grid. I managed to pass some of the guys in front of us and set the same pace as the podium finishers but we lost too much ground at the start and you can’t afford to do that in this championship. It was a positive Grand Prix though because we proved that if we can qualify and start better then we have the pace to run at the front. Now we take that confidence to Silverstone, especially after such a good test. My feeling with the bike has improved a lot and I am able to tackle the corners with much more conviction. This is a nice, long, fast and wide track and I really like it. Obviously everything will depend on the weather, which tends to be cold and wet in England. Anyway, I’m hoping to have a good race on a very different bike to the one I rode here last year. I am sure I can have fun on the Honda RC213V here and enjoy another positive weekend”.

MICHELE PIRRO (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “We took a big step forward in the race in Catalunya and finished just behind the top CRT. We enjoyed a positive test after that and now we go to Silverstone feeling confident we can do well. I like the track and I hope the weather allows us to benefit from our hard work recently. We are working hard every available moment to make up ground and carry out the development we need. I scored my first podium in Moto2 at Silverstone last year and I hope that can be a good sign for us”.

HECTOR BARBERA (Pramac Racing): “After the difficult Catalan’s race, I am really looking forward to getting to England. I’m happy with how we worked during the MotoGP test in Barcelona and in Aragon, last week. We tried some new stuff that allowed us to make progressive improvements, as the race pace and my confidence with my Ducati. The Grand Premi de Catalunya is in the past and the only thing I am thinking about is a good result on Sunday. The energy from the team gives me a lot of motivation and I am determined to get that feeling back to my crew. Silverstone is a fast circuit and I think it should suit our bike so we have the potential to do a good job”.

STEFAN BRADL (LCR Honda): “Silverstone will be a difficult racetrack for me. Yeah, we will see how it is, because I remember the asphalt is changing there quite a lot of times. We will see how the weather is doing. Basically, the track is not bad. Hopefully, I can adapt very fast my riding style with the MotoGP bike there”.

KAREL ABRAHAM (Cardion AB Motoracing): “I´m leaving to Silverstone on Wednesday after a medical examination. We´ll try to put out the splint and we´ll see if the movements with the hand will be painful and if the cut fingers won´t bleed again. I really would like to race at Silverstone. We need to collect another points in championship and I´ll do everything to be at the track. On the other side it would be irresponsible to race at all costs, risking that the healing will take longer. There´s a series of four races starting by Assen and it would be really catastrophe to lose these races”.

ALEIX ESPARGARO (Power Electronics Aspar Team): “I am really looking forward to the next race. I have never been involved in a dry race at Silverstone in MotoGP or Moto2 so hopefully the weather is good to us this weekend so that we can have fun on the bike. Silverstone is a very fast track and that should suit me. It is a bumpy track but once you work things out it is not too difficult to get on the pace. We tried a new swingarm in Barcelona that has improved rear traction, which was a major problem for us, and now that all the MotoGP riders are using the same front tyre I hope our situation improves still further. My objective for this weekend is to keep working in the same way that we have up to now and maintain our leadership of the CRT category”.

RANDY DE PUNIET (Power Electronics aspar Team): “Along with Catalunya Silverstone is one of my favourite circuits on the calendar and I always feel comfortable riding there. It is very fast with a lot of second and third gear corners that suit somebody with good corner speed and that suits me. With it being such a long track we might lose out a little bit compared to the factory MotoGP biles but I am very highly motivated, I’m looking forward to getting started and getting everything ready for the race. We have a lot of work to do but I think we can do really well on Sunday. We will have to keep an eye on the weather because it is always likely to rain in England but if that’s the case we will do our best to adapt to the conditions”.

JAMES ELLISON (Paul Bird Motorsport): “Going into my home round and I am proper excited. We are coming off the back of two really strong races and are improving each time we ride the Aprilia so my confidence is really high right now. We have had so much positive support from the fans worldwide and especially in the UK so I’m looking forward to meeting the home crowd at The Day of Champions on Thursday and having my friends and family cheering on the sidelines. The weather looks like it could be a bit damp over the weekend but that should only make it more interesting. Hopefully the fans will still come out in force and we really need their support”.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

