GP PORTUGAL (PREVIEW): STATEMENTS OF THE MOTOGP RIDERS

Publicado: 4 mayo, 2012 en MotoGP World Championship (english)
Etiquetas:, , ,

DANI PEDROSA (Repsol Honda): “I’m happy with our performance in the first two races, the results were good, but still not perfect. So, I will try to do the extra push in Estoril, where we achieved the first victory of the season last year after a very good weekend. It will be important to set up the bike well in a tricky circuit like this, with long corners and hard braking. It is the first time we go there with the 1000cc RC213V and a good position on the grid is always crucial in Estoril. We have to keep working hard like we did in Qatar and Jerez. Hopefully we can have good weather and the grandstands are full of Spanish fans as we had in Jerez on Sunday, especially being the last season we race in Estoril”.

CASEY STONER (Repsol Honda): “A flying visit back home to Switzerland and now we have the Grand Prix of Portugal this weekend. After our win in Jerez, I’m looking forward to going to Estoril and hopefully we can maintain the form we’ve had in the past two races as we’ve shown good pace. However, we do need to fix the arm pump issue as it’s held us back a little and it’s disappointing we weren’t able to fix it before Jerez. We’ve had some really good results at Estoril in the past, I got my first 250cc win there so I’ll be aiming for another good result but it would be really nice if we can have some better weather for the weekend!”

JORGE LORENZO (Yamaha Factory Racing): “We go to Estoril now, a track which has seen very good results for me. I have had some great victories here, and really enjoy the racing. I think we can be very strong in the race and as in Jerez I think the right tyres will be very important. We are leading the Championship but the competition is very tough so we must give everything to try and stay in front. We also will test on Monday which will be important to continue to make the 1000cc M1 even better”.

BEN SPIES (Yamaha Factory Racing): “It’s been a pretty rough start to the season so far, we’re going to Estoril determined to get our championship back on track and get back up there. I’ve been pretty unlucky in Portugal so it’s time to change that and deliver a good result. We will work hard from the first session to find a good set up that works and see what we can do on Sunday”.

VALENTINO ROSSI (Ducati Team): “I like the Estoril track. It has some sections that are a bit tricky and the weather can be very unpredictable, but I like to race there. We had a decent race in Portugal last year with the Ducati, and we hope to do the same this Sunday. The plan is to start on Friday with the setting that we used in the race at Jerez, as I think it has some more potential for us to work toward. We’ll see if we can take a step forward and improve our result somewhat”.

NICKY HAYDEN (Ducati Team): “There hasn’t been much time since Jerez, which is good, as I enjoy back-to-back races. I rode to Portugal in the motor home, and it was a really short, easy trip. I can’t say that I love or hate Estoril. It’s a tight track with a little bit of everything, and the wind can be challenging. My favourite part is the fast corner in the back, but the rest of it is pretty normal. I’m looking forward to Friday. We’ll see what the weather’s going to be like, as it’s pretty unpredictable here. What we don’t need is exactly what we had in Jerez: mostly wet sessions and then having to go into a dry race. It’s clear we need the whole weekend to try to sort some things out and put up a better fight on Sunday”.

HECTOR BARBERA (Pramac Racing): “I like Estoril and on this track I have achieved great deal. Physically I’m fine, and I know that the bike is ready for Estoril. I know that our Ducati can give us many satisfaction if we work well as we did. In Jerez I wasn’t able to regain the confidence while I was riding my GP12, because of the tricky track conditions, even if the work of the team has been faultless. But a new and unpredictable challenge is starting…”.

ALVARO BAUTISTA (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “It was a difficult weekend at Jerez because of the weather and my crash in practice but thankfully we found some confidence for the race and picked up a result that gives us a platform to build on in the next round. We need to build my confidence still further with this bike at a circuit that I don’t particularly like even though I have three wins here, one in 125 and two in 250. It is a circuit with some hard braking and the grip levels aren’t great but I have had luck there in the past so hopefully that will prove to be the case again. It is important for us to get through a whole weekend without problems so that I can build the confidence I need to push the bike as hard as I want to”.

MICHELE PIRRO (San Carlo Honda Gresini): “I was really hoping to score my first points for the team at Jerez but I couldn’t manage it. They deserve that and more for the tireless job they are doing but unfortunately the dream was shattered just a few laps from the end because of an electronic problem. That was a shame but at Estoril we carry on with what is a difficult job but it’s a job we all believe in and now we just need a bit of luck to go with that belief. I qualified on the second row for the Moto2 race here last year and I like the layout so I hope it suits our bike. Naturally we can’t get too excited because our only goal right now is to make improvements from one race to the next. We have a long way to go but morale is high and we are determined to show our potential on track.”

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Eduard Ballús

Responder

